Export Specific Region of Audio Tracks-Stems (Album Export)

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
spanktron
Posts: 141
Joined: Wed Feb 17, 2010 5:17 pm

Export Specific Region of Audio Tracks-Stems (Album Export)

Post by spanktron » Tue Oct 22, 2019 4:38 pm

Hi there.

I don`t know how to describe it differently....

Okay, here we go.. :-)

"Album Mastering Scenario"

If i have Multiple tracks that i want to master in Ableton i would place them in Sequence in the Timeline and
do my work.
Only thing is that when i export i will get all "Stems" in the same length or differently asked, can i export like in Ozone?
Like if track 1 starts at 00sec until 3minutes and next track 3min till 6min i dont want to end up with one 3 minute and one 6 Minute track


Hope what i ask makes sense? English is not my Native Language.

Would greatly Appreciate any information

Peace


spanktron
Posts: 141
Joined: Wed Feb 17, 2010 5:17 pm

Re: Export Specific Region of Audio Tracks-Stems (Album Export)

Post by spanktron » Tue Oct 22, 2019 7:58 pm

pottering wrote:
Tue Oct 22, 2019 5:30 pm
It exports the same length.

https://www.ableton.com/en/manual/manag ... -and-video
I hoped for a "hack" :-)

Hmm i see.
Thats a BIG bummer. I find Ozone Standalone very convenient in this manner (exporting the tracks only in their own length, jumping from one track to another etc) but i had some bad crashes where iAutosave saved 0 of a project more than one times before it crashed. Now i have a new laptop , new Os and it still crashed. I need something more reliable. Also no Envelope auomation etc ec.

There seems to be nothing similar to Ozone Standalone out there.

pottering
Posts: 716
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2014 4:41 am

Re: Export Specific Region of Audio Tracks-Stems (Album Export)

Post by pottering » Tue Oct 22, 2019 8:28 pm

You said you DIDN'T want "to end up with one 3 minute and one 6 Minute track".

spanktron
Posts: 141
Joined: Wed Feb 17, 2010 5:17 pm

Re: Export Specific Region of Audio Tracks-Stems (Album Export)

Post by spanktron » Tue Oct 22, 2019 8:35 pm

pottering wrote:
Tue Oct 22, 2019 8:28 pm
You said you DIDN'T want "to end up with one 3 minute and one 6 Minute track".
I dont get what you are saying.

In Live if you have lets say 3 Tracks-Songs , you have to choose from where to where to export in the Arrangement view , select Export All Tracks and you end up with (lets say 6 minutes length) 3 Tracks that are 6 minutes long. Regardless if the Original File-Song was 3 minutes long

Or am i getting oyu wrong? Yes i DON`T want this to happen. I want it to export ONLY the File in the Length it was when i imported it. I want a 2min22seconds Track to be automatically be exported at this length and not 20 minutes because i Put 7 tracks in a row in arrangement view
Last edited by spanktron on Tue Oct 22, 2019 8:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.

ShelLuser
Posts: 3863
Joined: Sun Dec 06, 2009 10:26 pm
Location: Wageningen, Netherlands

Re: Export Specific Region of Audio Tracks-Stems (Album Export)

Post by ShelLuser » Tue Oct 22, 2019 8:44 pm

Why not use session view?
With kind regards,

Peter

Using the 'Power' Trio: Live 10 Suite (+ Push & Max 8 ), Reason 10 and Maschine Mk3 (+ the ultimate Komplete 12).
Blog: SynthFan (under heavy construction!)

spanktron
Posts: 141
Joined: Wed Feb 17, 2010 5:17 pm

Re: Export Specific Region of Audio Tracks-Stems (Album Export)

Post by spanktron » Tue Oct 22, 2019 8:45 pm

ShelLuser wrote:
Tue Oct 22, 2019 8:44 pm
Why not use session view?
Because (unless i miss something) you cant export directly from Session view?

spanktron
Posts: 141
Joined: Wed Feb 17, 2010 5:17 pm

Re: Export Specific Region of Audio Tracks-Stems (Album Export)

Post by spanktron » Tue Oct 22, 2019 8:47 pm

pottering wrote:
Tue Oct 22, 2019 8:28 pm
You said you DIDN'T want "to end up with one 3 minute and one 6 Minute track".
Yes because of these two the one 6 minute track would be the 3min track +3 minutes of silence and the other would be 3minutes of silence+ a 3min Track...

ShelLuser
Posts: 3863
Joined: Sun Dec 06, 2009 10:26 pm
Location: Wageningen, Netherlands

Re: Export Specific Region of Audio Tracks-Stems (Album Export)

Post by ShelLuser » Tue Oct 22, 2019 9:05 pm

spanktron wrote:
Tue Oct 22, 2019 8:45 pm
Because (unless i miss something) you cant export directly from Session view?
You are indeed missing something, it can be easily done from both environments. In the end there isn't all that much difference between a clip in the arrangement view and one in session view. I'd suggest checking up on the Live concepts chapter in the Live manual. Or going straight to chapter 5 which explains the concept of file management in better detail.

Heck, you could even freeze the track and then simply find all the separate (processed) samples in your project folder. There's quite a lot you can do here.
With kind regards,

Peter

Using the 'Power' Trio: Live 10 Suite (+ Push & Max 8 ), Reason 10 and Maschine Mk3 (+ the ultimate Komplete 12).
Blog: SynthFan (under heavy construction!)

Post Reply