Page 1 of 1

Slice to MIDI Can't Handle Kick

Posted: Sat Nov 30, 2019 5:13 pm
by ohthepain
Slice to new MIDI track doesn't seem to work anymore, not even for a simple kick drum only loop. There is a loud click at the beginning of every kick sample, in every loop I tried. Even for a simple four-on-the-floor kick-only loop.

Is anybody else experiencing the same thing? Any workarounds? It used to work great.

Re: Slice to MIDI Can't Handle Kick

Posted: Sun Dec 01, 2019 2:09 am
by [jur]
Are you sure the markers are set correctly before slicing? Or maybe you are slicing to a note value?
Can you describe exactly your process and the result?

Re: Slice to MIDI Can't Handle Kick

Posted: Sun Dec 01, 2019 10:13 am
by ohthepain
No, the transient markers are not in the correct places. They are slightly behind where they should be on the kick.

It turns out that that wasn't the problem though. The default slicing preset was loops the samples! I created a new slicing preset that creates only one-shots and it's much happier now.

Thanks for your reply! Now I know a lot more about markers.