Is Windows 10 32 bit usable for music production?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
filter_7
Posts: 376
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2012 10:05 am

Is Windows 10 32 bit usable for music production?

Post by filter_7 » Thu Dec 12, 2019 10:31 am

On the Microsoft website they say that W10 needs 1Gb of RAM, so in theory we can have a little more than 2Gb usable for music production in a 32 bit OS (4Gb is the maximum).

The answer seems obvious, but please let me know your experience with this kind of scenario.

Angstrom
Posts: 14699
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 2:22 pm
Contact:

Re: Is Windows 10 32 bit usable for music production?

Post by Angstrom » Thu Dec 12, 2019 11:07 am

I'm not sure why anyone would use the 32 bit version of Win 10 and I'm surprised that one still exists. The 64 bit version being better in every way.

chymera
Posts: 94
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2005 4:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Is Windows 10 32 bit usable for music production?

Post by chymera » Thu Dec 12, 2019 1:03 pm

Take these points into consideration:

1. You won't be able to use Live 10, because it's 64-bit only
2. That means that unless you already have a Live 9 (or earlier) license, you won't be able to use Live
3. You are limited to 4GB RAM regardless of how much you have on your computer, so you will run into Out of Memory crashes most likely: https://help.ableton.com/hc/en-us/artic ... ry-crashes
4. Many newer plug-ins are now only available in 64-bit, so you won't be able to use them

TLW
Posts: 574
Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2018 2:37 am

Re: Is Windows 10 32 bit usable for music production?

Post by TLW » Thu Dec 12, 2019 3:46 pm

The only reasons I can think of to run 32 bit WIndows nowadays are if you have 32 bit plugins you absolutely need and none of the 32 to 64 bit “bridges” (e.g. jbridge) can cope with it. Or if you have a really, really old PC.

Otherwise “pure” 64 bit systems are considerably more efficient in all kinds of ways.
Live 10 Suite, 2014/15 MacBook Pro 15.3” Retina i7, OS Mojave 10.14.5. RME UFX, assorted synths, guitars and stuff.

filter_7
Posts: 376
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2012 10:05 am

Re: Is Windows 10 32 bit usable for music production?

Post by filter_7 » Thu Dec 12, 2019 5:01 pm

@TLW, @Angstrom: Since I use my PC for graphic design also, my problem is that on a 64bit OS I can't use any of the software that I have, not only plugins.

@ShelLuser, @chymera: The memory issue is very important, and I need to upgrade for this reason.

Since Windows 7 is about to end, we don't have a choice. A 64bit OS is more powerful, but the jump can be also expensive.

As "plan B" I'm thinking to run 2 OS on 2 separate SSDs on the same PC. I mean Windows 7 32bit and Windows 10 64bit. In this case I would have 16Gb of RAM when I boot from the 64 OS, but I need to be sure that when I boot from 32bit the motherboard will accept and take only 4Gb.

Somebody did it? Could it be possible?

pottering
Posts: 960
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2014 4:41 am

Re: Is Windows 10 32 bit usable for music production?

Post by pottering » Thu Dec 12, 2019 5:22 pm

Most old 32-bit software runs on 64-bit Windows just fine.

filter_7
Posts: 376
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2012 10:05 am

Re: Is Windows 10 32 bit usable for music production?

Post by filter_7 » Thu Dec 12, 2019 7:29 pm

@pottering, @ShelLuser: thanks I didn't know that.

The Plan B would be much easier than reinstall everything, though, don't you think?

jestermgee
Posts: 3770
Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 6:38 am
Contact:

Re: Is Windows 10 32 bit usable for music production?

Post by jestermgee » Thu Dec 12, 2019 8:11 pm

What graphic design software do you use that is only 32 bit??? Anything decent these days is all 64 bit and as mentioned a 64bit Windows can still run 32bit software.

filter_7
Posts: 376
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2012 10:05 am

Re: Is Windows 10 32 bit usable for music production?

Post by filter_7 » Thu Dec 12, 2019 9:35 pm

jestermgee wrote:
Thu Dec 12, 2019 8:11 pm
What graphic design software do you use that is only 32 bit??? Anything decent these days is all 64 bit and as mentioned a 64bit Windows can still run 32bit software.
pottering already told this, thanks.
For instance my Cd of Corel Painter is 32 bit only... I'm just searching for a smooth passage, to be sure first, instead of not trying and then discover that a software won't open.

filter_7
Posts: 376
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2012 10:05 am

Re: Is Windows 10 32 bit usable for music production?

Post by filter_7 » Wed Dec 18, 2019 2:33 pm

Update: the simple answer is no, Win10 32bit is not usable (as Angstrom said, I'm surprised on its existence too).

I solved this problem installing Win 10 64 bit on a second empty SSD, alongside my original Win 7 32 bit on the first SSD (what I called the PLAN B).

I can now use both systems like having two PCs.

This setup is very convenient, because Windows on startup is asking for what OS I want to boot, and all is fine. When I run the 10 64 bit OS I have 16 Gb of RAM too.

If someone is interested in a more detailed how-to, let me know; it's very easy.

Post Reply