Beginner : what to buy for very first steps?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
LenC

Beginner : what to buy for very first steps?

Post by LenC » Sat Dec 14, 2019 9:10 pm

Hello !

I am a complete beginner with DAW, just trying to get an idea of what everything is and does, and what I can / want to go towards, with a very tight 100-200 euros budget at this phase.
I am moving towards doing solo jams with instruments (electroaccoustic guitar, and a drum kit) and female voice with some high pitches, in my about 30 square meters living room, through an extensive use of loops features I suppose. Apparently Ableton is great for that so I just can't wait to explore it!

So far I have done the 2 first tutorials in Ableton 10's Help View in Trial version, in Windows 10 64bits, on a high-end 2018 laptop with only USB-C ports, with a smartphone headset, and I have read the chapter 4, "Live Concepts', of the Ableton manual. It's basically all I know about music software and electronics. The headset's sound seems very low unless I hold it directly under my mount wich doesn't leave my hands free to play an instrument or play with Ableton's Session features while I record.

So I am asking to more experienced Ableton users and musicians what is the cheapest convenient thing that I must buy in order to record all the sounds I mentioned above (not necessarily together at the same time, with a preference for voice) in a way that leaves my hands free, respects the pitch and doesn't glitch while leaving my hands free. It's ok if the texture isn't good, even if it's pretty bad, I will buy quality gear in my next steps if I find that learning DAW really is something for me.

I already found names of materials by reading the forum but I am not managing to figure out what part requires what other part.