Complete NOOB question...

Discuss music production with Ableton Live.
Code3

Complete NOOB question...

Post by Code3 » Thu Feb 20, 2020 8:10 pm

Hello all. I'm a complete noob to Ableton Live. In fact, I haven't played with a DAW of any kind for several years. I used to be a DJ in the 90s, but now, I just like playing with sound. I have a little bit of time on much MUCH simpler DAWs in the past, but decided to try my hand with Ableton. I've searched this forum a couple times and watched a ton of tutorials on Youtube, but none of them really show me what I want to see. If I could just find a video that shows me how to load a song, chop it up into a few parts, make smooth loops with those parts, and save the loops as a separate track, that would help me big time! The rest, I think I could just figure out from there. I'm not really looking to make music. I just want to play around with remixes, mashups, and sets based on BPM for cardio.

Can someone point me to a video/tutorial/article/anything to show me what I'm looking for? Any help is much appreciated. Thanks!

evon

Re: Complete NOOB question...

Post by evon » Fri Feb 21, 2020 9:50 pm

There are plenty tutorials around. Have you tried YouTube? Just do a Google search, I guarantee you will find what you want.
fe real!

jestermgee

Post by jestermgee » Fri Feb 21, 2020 10:31 pm

It's probably more beneficial to just experiment and figure it out on your own TBH.

A hint will be to look into Warping and the different ways the warp settings affect the overall sound, then create a loop brace for your sample at the length you want, duplicate your clip and use the arrow keys to move the loop brace to maintai9n aq perfect loop segment. Rinse and repeat and you can chop up an entire song into perfectly looped segments within minutes.

There are also automated ways to do this but start with the basics and learn how that all works first.

Tone Deft

Post by Tone Deft » Fri Feb 21, 2020 11:27 pm