MIDI Looper

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
filosofem
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Mar 09, 2010 3:12 am
Location: Christchurch NZ

MIDI Looper

Post by filosofem » Sat May 16, 2020 5:56 am

Hey guys, currently I'm running Live 10 Suite and Push 2 just in case there's something I've missed.

I love the functionality of Looper, say you're jamming with a good groove on a synth and capture it with a foot controller, Looper then sets the tempo and the loop plays back. Pretty simple, straight forward and works really well for audio.

But what I'm looking for is the same functionality except with MIDI. For example, say you're jamming with Wavetable or Operator on Push and you fall into this groove and you want to capture it without interrupting the feel. How can I keep within the MIDI domain, capture the feel and then have it set the song tempo and then play back?


a

chapelier fou
Posts: 5189
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 12:15 pm

Re: MIDI Looper

Post by chapelier fou » Sat May 16, 2020 7:57 am

You can record inside MIDI clips. Or use the « capture » function introduced in live 10.
If not, check out for max for live devices.
MacBook Pro 13" Retina i7 2.8 GHz OS 10.13, L10.0.1, M4L.
iMac 27" Retina i5 3,2 GHz OS 10.11.3 L10.0.1 M4L.

filosofem
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Mar 09, 2010 3:12 am
Location: Christchurch NZ

Re: MIDI Looper

Post by filosofem » Sat May 16, 2020 8:08 pm

Hey chapelier, 'Capture' exactly what I missed, thanks mate.

a

Post Reply