Ipad Controller

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
lapieuvre
Posts: 725
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2007 9:29 pm

Ipad Controller

Post by lapieuvre » Tue Jun 23, 2020 1:08 am

Hi,

I tried all the iPad controllers I could find... LK, Lemur, Controllr, touchOSC and nothing is doing what I need.

The closest one is LK. Here is what I need:

I want to record Acoustic guitars, Vocals, percussion in a sound proof booth (Meaning i'm not close to my computer). Lk is ok for this, but since I record in Arrangement view, there is no way to jump a certain measure... If I want to record verse 1, then verse 2, then Chorus, it's really complicated. Unless I don't understand completely how to use it...


Live always brings the playback to the first measure I started recording...

I used to use the Alpha Track which was perfect, but unfortunately it is not 64 bits compatible...

Any app that could do this?

I want more like the Cubase, or Logic iPad app...

Thanks
MBP 2018, 16 GB Ram, OSX 10.15.7
Live 10.1.30 Suite
Live 11.0
Soundcards : FF800, Apollo Twin duo

TLW
Posts: 810
Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2018 2:37 am

Re: Ipad Controller

Post by TLW » Tue Jun 23, 2020 5:31 am

TouchAble Pro is about the best Live remote app I think. Works across a LAN or via Bluetooth and integrates with Live very well.

Alternatively, if you’ve an iPad and Mac that support it Apple’s recent Sidecar technology lets you use an iPad as a screen. As do VNC Viewer, Duet and even the Mac/iPad screen redirector technology. I’ve used VNC for years without problems to control the upstairs Mac from my iPad when I’m downstairs by mirroring the Mac’s screen onto it, but there is some lag in the display which I think would make it unusable for Live.
Live 10 Suite, 2020 27" iMac, 3.6 GHz i9, MacOS Catalina, RME UFX, assorted synths, guitars and stuff.

lapieuvre
Posts: 725
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2007 9:29 pm

Re: Ipad Controller

Post by lapieuvre » Tue Jun 23, 2020 8:56 am

again, Touchable Pro seems to be all about Session View...

I mean I have Push 2, maybe it's my solution... I'd have to put it in my booth, not too convenient!

I also tried DAW Control, it seemed to work the first time, then it did the same thing as the others... I can only record from the start... If i jump to bar 33, for instance, and hit record, the recording starts at bar one....

Oh, and I found a workaround in LK : I put makers one bar before each section, then map the midi pads inside LK to those makers. Then i can jump to different sections in my song
MBP 2018, 16 GB Ram, OSX 10.15.7
Live 10.1.30 Suite
Live 11.0
Soundcards : FF800, Apollo Twin duo

S4racen
Posts: 5503
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2007 4:08 pm
Location: Dunstable
Contact:

Re: Ipad Controller

Post by S4racen » Tue Jun 23, 2020 12:45 pm

Tha majority of Arrangement view is not avaialablke via Lives API hence why no apps specialise in it...

Cheers
D

lapieuvre
Posts: 725
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2007 9:29 pm

Re: Ipad Controller

Post by lapieuvre » Tue Jun 23, 2020 3:19 pm

Thanks S4racen,

a little sad... I guess I'll use the workaround in LK
MBP 2018, 16 GB Ram, OSX 10.15.7
Live 10.1.30 Suite
Live 11.0
Soundcards : FF800, Apollo Twin duo

Tone Deft
Posts: 24154
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 5:19 pm

Re: Ipad Controller

Post by Tone Deft » Tue Jun 23, 2020 5:31 pm

S4racen wrote:
Tue Jun 23, 2020 12:45 pm
Tha majority of Arrangement view is not avaialablke via Lives API hence why no apps specialise in it...

Cheers
D
I gave up because it's all Python 2.x based. :evil:
In my life
Why do I smile
At people who I'd much rather kick in the eye?
-Moz

lapieuvre
Posts: 725
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2007 9:29 pm

Re: Ipad Controller

Post by lapieuvre » Tue Jun 23, 2020 6:10 pm

Tone Deft wrote:
Tue Jun 23, 2020 12:45 pm
I gave up because it's all Python 2.x based. :evil:
What does this mean?
MBP 2018, 16 GB Ram, OSX 10.15.7
Live 10.1.30 Suite
Live 11.0
Soundcards : FF800, Apollo Twin duo

Tone Deft
Posts: 24154
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 5:19 pm

Re: Ipad Controller

Post by Tone Deft » Tue Jun 23, 2020 6:26 pm

lapieuvre wrote:
Tue Jun 23, 2020 6:10 pm
Tone Deft wrote:
Tue Jun 23, 2020 12:45 pm
I gave up because it's all Python 2.x based. :evil:
What does this mean?
just a side rant. it means nothing if you're not looking to code up your own controls for Live.

you can't make use of the Live API with Python unless you work with the OLD version of Python. you can use max4Live all you want but for me getting better at max/msp isn't a skill I need to work on right now.

for remote controlling, I found the most bang for the buck being a simple wireless keyboard that works from a distance away. ALL the keyboard shortcuts are there plus whatever you assign to keyboard keys.
If I want to record verse 1, then verse 2, then Chorus, it's really complicated.
stuff like that is just a matter of learning your workflow with Live. don't go looking for more tools before you learn Live better. IMO. that's a very simple work flow to get down, with some time spent learning.

your question is vague on your workflow. I assume you mean Arrange View. in there you can set Locators and then ctl-m to midi assign them to whatever you want. with that you can jump to anywhere you want. also look at punch-in, punch-outs in Live.

these are tools that have been developed for a looooong time, basic things like recording flow have been thought over to make it as easy as possible. this is the (one of many) Photoshop of audio, not the Paint.exe.
In my life
Why do I smile
At people who I'd much rather kick in the eye?
-Moz

Post Reply