Controlling android devices via midi from Live 10

Discuss music production with Ableton Live.
Hitachii

Controlling android devices via midi from Live 10

Post by Hitachii » Tue Aug 04, 2020 7:40 pm

Hello,

I'm fairly new to MIDI, so with all things I encountered so far, I'm not sure how far down the chain I need to go to make this work. Since I'll be controlling from Live 10 I figured I'd start here.

I'm running the Koala Sampler app on my Samsung Galaxy S10e. I want to be able to trigger the samples on the Koala Sampler app via midi channel in Live, but have never connected midi in through my phone before. I have gotten LK to work, but only used it once through the bluetooth connection.

To be honest, I'm not even sure where to start. I've connected the phone to my Macbook (Android to Mac :? ) in hopes that Live would recognize the phone as a midi device... somehow. For starters, does the Galaxy automatically connect midi through the usb connection, or do I need a separate app to set up the midi? with the Koala Sampler app running, Live recognizes no midi channel coming through my phone.

From here, I have no idea where to go! Thanks in advance for any help!

siehorst

Re: Controlling android devices via midi from Live 10

Post by siehorst » Tue Aug 04, 2020 8:23 pm

Hi,
not Koala sampler, but these ones (G-stomper Producer & Studio):
https://www.planet-h.com/
can be linked via ableton link.
horst

TLW

Re: Controlling android devices via midi from Live 10

Post by TLW » Tue Aug 04, 2020 11:51 pm