Volume/Gain Automation

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
DukeOfLizards
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2020 4:57 am

Volume/Gain Automation

Post by DukeOfLizards » Wed Jan 27, 2021 11:02 pm

I recorded a jam in Session View with different Volume automations on various tracks. I just pulled it into Arrangement View and realized this will be hard to mix as adjusting any track volumes will delete my automations. Any recos? Recreate volume automations with Utility Gain automations? Also, any recos for preventing this from happening in the future when automating track volumes in Session View? Utility Gain for a return track and automate this way?

pottering
Posts: 1360
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2014 4:41 am

Re: Volume/Gain Automation

Post by pottering » Wed Jan 27, 2021 11:09 pm

You can group single Track(s) and change the gain in the Group(s).

With grouping Groups since Live 10 I don't even worry about it anymore, but in Live 9 and earlier people recommended using Utility to automate gain.

DukeOfLizards
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2020 4:57 am

Re: Volume/Gain Automation

Post by DukeOfLizards » Thu Jan 28, 2021 1:26 am

Ha, genius! And that's why I come to the forum lol. Thanks for the quick and helpful response. Will grouping a single track affect quality at all? Relative noob here...

pottering
Posts: 1360
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2014 4:41 am

Re: Volume/Gain Automation

Post by pottering » Thu Jan 28, 2021 7:00 am

No, just grouping is neutral and doesn't affect the quality.

DukeOfLizards
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2020 4:57 am

Re: Volume/Gain Automation

Post by DukeOfLizards » Wed Feb 17, 2021 4:14 am

What about if I wanted to avoid grouping? Is it ok to throw a Utility on a Return track and automate the Utility Gain knob when jamming in Session rather than the Channel Volume knob? Any downside?

pottering
Posts: 1360
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2014 4:41 am

Re: Volume/Gain Automation

Post by pottering » Wed Feb 17, 2021 6:26 am

Yeah, it is OK to drop an Utility, that was people did in Live 9.

Post Reply