Recording in arrange view (Solved)

Discuss music production with Ableton Live.
Samiver

Recording in arrange view (Solved)

Post by Samiver » Fri Apr 23, 2021 9:19 am

Hi I am fairly new to live having moved from another daw and have an issue when recording in arrange view where in if I arm a specific track and record it records everything into the arranger (eg drum tracks etc) when I only want to record the synth etc I am playing with my controller. I have looked at the manual but cannot get my head round why it does this and maybe someone can help?

I have no problem recording individual clips in session view.

I am probably missing something obvious but any help appreciated
Last edited by Samiver on Fri Apr 23, 2021 9:56 am, edited 1 time in total.

slow.robot

Re: Recording in arrange view

Post by slow.robot » Fri Apr 23, 2021 9:30 am

if I'm understanding correctly, you've only got one track armed, but when you hit record, they all record...I'm new to Live too, but that sounds like a bug worth reporting.

slow.robot

Post by slow.robot » Fri Apr 23, 2021 9:34 am

or are you sure you don't just need to click the return to arrangement button? I think if that's not clicked, it records everything it hears from session view.

Samiver

Post by Samiver » Fri Apr 23, 2021 9:37 am

Hi Slow Robot yes that is correct however it does not record midi i input on the other tracks but records the midi from all other clips playing in session view as audio (eg if I have drum rack playing in session view it records the audio onto the drum rack lane). I still think I am probably doing something wrong just cannot figure out what.

I am trying to get it to just record the midi or automation I am inputting on my keyboard onto the one track I armed and not record the audio from all other tracks into their arrangement lanes as I do so.

Samiver

Post by Samiver » Fri Apr 23, 2021 9:39 am

slow.robot wrote:
Fri Apr 23, 2021 9:34 am