Reverb in headphone mix only

Discuss music production with Ableton Live.
MDvocals

Reverb in headphone mix only

Post by MDvocals » Tue May 04, 2021 6:03 pm

Hi there
I am pretty new to Ableton live so bear with me !
I want to add reverb only to the headphone mix for vocals but record a dry track.
I can't seem to find a simple explanation for this anywhere and I am getting all the routing wrong.

I am just recording vocals and nothing else.
I would be grateful for any help !
Thanks

hunterwiley

Re: Reverb in headphone mix only

Post by hunterwiley » Tue May 04, 2021 7:12 pm

Hey friend, I'm not sure I totally understand your question -- What doesn't work if you just record an audio track with or without reverb Send (send A by default)? Then once the recording is done you can turn up or down the reverb amount. Essentially a recording with fx added to the chain is still "dry" if you remove the send/effect.

What's the intended objective for you doing this? You can route playback to different channels, depending on your audio interface (and the amount of in/outs it has to route playback to)

You could likely route the reverb Return channel to playback whichever channel the headphones are on instead of going to master. It's a little hacky, but Idk that I totally understand what you are going for!

Mark Williams

Post by Mark Williams » Tue May 04, 2021 8:36 pm

Just record dry anyway, then add FX later.
Live 11, M1 Mac Mini, Push 2, Scarlett 18i20 & ADA8200, Softube Console 1 Mk2, Deepmind12, Hydrasynth, Cobalt 8M, Moog Subsequent 25, IK Uno Synth Pro, Plethora X3, Nord Drum 3P

miyaru

Post by miyaru » Tue May 04, 2021 8:41 pm

I use a Lexicon MPX1, digitally patched in the routing of my Focusrite 18i20 3rd gen. In the routing software I can add and adjust the amount of reverb. Latency free, and only in the monitor path........ Will set you back aprox. 800 dollar though!
Greetings from Miyaru.