Need help Recording band

Discuss music production with Ableton Live.
flyhighsounds

Need help Recording band

Post by flyhighsounds » Fri Oct 15, 2021 8:40 pm

Hi everyone,

I’m new to Live 10,

I am coming from using cakewalk . I have been using cakewalk for more then Ten years.

I just got a new Mac Mini M1 and Cakewalk is not supported by Apple.

What I want todo is record full bands. Some times I record up to 16 track at one time.

This DAW is so different I don’t know what I’m doing . How do I set up tracks to record in free time.

Any help would be greatly appreciated

Thank you .

Greenapples2019

Re: Need help Recording band

Post by Greenapples2019 » Fri Oct 15, 2021 9:12 pm

Hi, I've not used Cakewalk but Ableton's arrangement view works similarly to Logic and ProTools with tracks stacked on top of each other and time running from left to right. It's pretty straightforward to record bands once you get the hang of it. Maybe start with the manual, find a YT overview of arrangement view and have a look through this forum. I'm sure with ten years experience you'll quickly be able to translate from what you know to Ableton.

You can use session view, as we've done with our band, but I think arrangement view is easier to grasp and apply.

miyaru

Post by miyaru » Fri Oct 15, 2021 9:43 pm

Greetings from Miyaru.
Prodaw i7-7700, 16Gb Ram, Focusrite Scarlett 18i20 3rd gen, ESI M4U eX, Reason 12, Live Suit 10, Push2, Presonus Eris E8 and Monitor Station V2, Lexicon MPX1,
Korg N1, Yamaha RM1x :mrgreen:

jestermgee

Post by jestermgee » Fri Oct 15, 2021 11:08 pm

If you are just wanting to record tracks mainly I can't help but think something like maybe Reaper would be a better fit. Not to say Live cannot do what you want but it's got the whole Clip vide which is a big part of the application that you may not even need. Reaper is quite cost effective and really good at simply recording linear arrangements.