Reverb for microphone

Discuss music production with Ableton Live.
Andy Earhol

Reverb for microphone

Post by Andy Earhol » Tue Oct 19, 2021 6:25 pm

Complete newb here and a bit overwhelmed. I got the Ableton live 11 Lite (dread to think what a heavy one might be like) free with my Focusrite Scarlett 6i6 and I have a basic question, which is; I understand that you can add reverb and/or echo to an existing piece of music (file), but can you add it to live music, i.e. can I sing through a microphone and have my voice come out through my Presonus monitor speakers live with the reverb and/or echo effect already applied to it?

That's all I want really, i.e. I'm not wanting to mix music tracks or become a record producer or anything, I just want to sing, maybe with a karaoke backing and maybe record (at a push), so is the Ableton live 11 Lite even the best way to go, or is there a much simpler way? Thank you.

EDIT: Just one other thing. When I downloaded the Ableton live 11 Lite, I ended up with this...

I've obviously installed the application, but do I have to install 'Data 1' and 'Data 2' also? What are they even?

I think my newbiness is showing again :(

Greenapples2019

Re: Reverb for microphone

Post by Greenapples2019 » Tue Oct 19, 2021 7:45 pm

Hi Andy, yes you can, it's pretty straightforward. Have a watch of some YT videos covering an overview of Ableton but essentially what you'll do is open a new project (which automatically puts reverb on one of the return tracks). You'll plug your mic onto the Focusrite, route it into Ableton (videos will explain how) and decide how much of your mic signal you want to send to your reverb track. Then the dry vocal plus reverb will go back to the Focusrite and out of your monitors/headphones. It might take a couple of goes to get the hang of it but there's loads of tutorials online and the manual is great.