Export length is incorrect?

Discuss music production with Ableton Live.
Dugrok

Export length is incorrect?

Post by Dugrok » Tue Oct 26, 2021 2:09 am

Hi there,

I'm trying to export a project (podcast for which I also compose the music and soundscape). When I set the loopbar, or when I manually set the render length value in the export window, Ableton produces a file that contains minutes of dead air at the end of the track. It is supposed to be 35 minutes long, but clocks in at 44.

I've read on Reddit that this happens to some users when they have time signature changes in their projects, which mine does have.

I'm fairly new to Ableton, and this is the first time I do this kind of work in the program. I may be doing something wrong, but would appreciate it if anyone could chime in on this.

Edit: I am using Mac OS 11.6. My audio interface is a UAD Apollo x6, and an Apollo Twin (chained together). I will update with the exact version of Live I am running once it completes a render, but it's 11.

Thanks in advance!

EDIT WITH SOLUTION:
Leaving this here because someone (potentially me) will probably come looking for the answer to this at some point.

I've figured it out. Ableton knows to follow the loop bracket and calculates bars accordingly and automatically. The ruler at the top of the project does not reflect the same number. That's why I was getting confused: according to my project ruler, I should have been setting the end length at 1112.1.1. However, the loop bracket adjusts automatically to 892.2.0 - which sounds kind of random but is probably just the compensation for the several time signature changes.
| 14" 2021 64 GB M1 Max MBP , OS 12.4 | 15" 2015 2.5 GHz Intel Core i7 MBP, OS 11.6 | UAD Twin and x6 | Ableton Live 11 Suite v11.2

Snakey Engel

Re: Export length is incorrect?

Post by Snakey Engel » Sat Sep 16, 2023 4:42 pm