Ableton upgrades and Arturia

Discuss music production with Ableton Live.
sal_the_cat

Ableton upgrades and Arturia

Post by sal_the_cat » Tue Nov 23, 2021 6:07 am

Newbie here. Nice to meet everyone folks.

Just purchased an Arturia mini lab II and getting used to the Ableton interface (former Sonar user here).
I am using Ableton Live lite (the free version). The sounds that come with it are really not that impressive. Will upgraind the next version provide some better quality sounds?

The Arturia also comes with a limited version Analog Lab V- it has a better set of sounds. The upgrade for this is $200.00. Anyone use the upgraded version and if so would you recommend it?
thank you for any insight
Sal_the-Cat

Greenapples2019

Re: Ableton upgrades and Arturia

Post by Greenapples2019 » Tue Nov 23, 2021 8:30 am

The Lab has some good sounds but is limited to using presets (from the V Collection) with only a few tweaks possible. So it's great for finding a sound quickly when you're sketching ideas, and for getting you really close to the sound you're after, but sometimes not quite exactly where you want to be. V Collection is vast and sounds great (and includes Analog Lab). Both Lab and Collection are currently on sale.

Shift Gorden

Post by Shift Gorden » Tue Nov 23, 2021 5:26 pm

Hey hey,

Wanted to hop in here. Yup, if you upgrade Live to Standard or Suite, you'll have access to more synths. Some folks like them, some don't. You might want to try a demo and see how you get on.

I LOVE Arturia's stuff. I think Analog Lab is a great way to go if you don't want to get bogged down with synthesis. Lots of great sounding presets - plus it should integrate really well with the minilab (I have a keylab and I enjoy dialing up presets straight from that device).

Like Greenapples said, the V Collection is super solid. I think Arturia has some of the best soft synths and emulations on the market. So good!

grrrz

Post by grrrz » Wed Nov 24, 2021 12:39 am

sal_the_cat wrote: