Live instruments and guitar pedals with Ableton

Discuss music production with Ableton Live.
timnellz

Live instruments and guitar pedals with Ableton

Post by timnellz » Wed Dec 01, 2021 11:50 pm

Hi, everybody. I'm relatively new to Ableton and have been taught all I know by Youtube videos and my own exploration, so I'm pretty inexperienced with the ins and outs. Please excuse my ignorance if this is a silly topic:

I recently have been wanting to set up a rig where I can use my live guitar with outside hardware effects like guitar pedals. I have a Scarlett 4i4 and am using the external audio effects feature. I have my instrument plugged into instrument input 1, out line output 3, through my effects pedals, and into line input 3. It works. Sort of. I can hear my guitar with the effects and it sounds great but the effects are also being applied to my midi tracks, even the metronome. Is there a solution for this? It's become very frustrating. I even bought an interface with more than 2 outputs (had a Presonus before this) and nothing has changed.

Thanks for your patience with my long winded explanation, hope this isn't a silly question or an impossible endeavor.

Greenapples2019

Re: Live instruments and guitar pedals with Ableton

Post by Greenapples2019 » Thu Dec 02, 2021 8:52 am

Hiya, your set-up should work so there's probably something awry with the routing - could you post snapshots of your Live screen, showing ins/outs and also the guitar track specifically, showing the External Audio Effects set-up?

timnellz

Post by timnellz » Thu Dec 02, 2021 2:20 pm

Thank you for your reply.
https://imgur.com/a/awVQqUX

Here's a link to the screenshot of my Ableton Live session and Focusrite routing. I've tried setting the master output to 1/2 and no effects come through. In Focusrite direct monitoring is muted and all output is going to the DAW.

Also new issue: When I record the effects come through, but then when I mute the track the dry guitar still plays.