New M1 MacBook Pro - clean install everything or Migration Assistant?

Discuss music production with Ableton Live.
Pitch Black

New M1 MacBook Pro - clean install everything or Migration Assistant?

Post by Pitch Black » Fri Dec 17, 2021 5:48 am

Hi All, as a Mac user for the last 25 years I’ve always used Migration Assistant when moving to new hardware, and I can honestly say I’ve never detected a problem going this route.

Now with yet another new chipset/architecture requiring new, native versions of software and plugins in order to run with maximum efficiency I’m seeing advice that this is the time to clean install everything from scratch - a seriously daunting prospect given the amount of plugins/libraries/dependencies I have accumulated over the years.

So… folks who’ve recently made the jump to M1, what say ye?

FWIW, I’m going to be holding on to my 2015 retina MBP with Mojave because as a working professional I have to maintain access to the last 15 years or so of client work.
MBP M1Max | MacOS 12.7.2 | Live 11.3.20 | Babyface Pro FS | Push 3 (tethered) | a whole other bunch of controllers
Ableton Certified Trainer
Soundcloud

Machinesworking

Re: New M1 MacBook Pro - clean install everything or Migration Assistant?

Post by Machinesworking » Fri Dec 17, 2021 7:52 am

Clean instal, new chip architecture is the only time this is a super good idea, but yeah. The idea of some extension squeezing by and causing big issues, but you're confused by which one it is, is a bigger nightmare than a clean instal. Plus a clean instal means everything that is already M1 native gets installed as M1 native VS Rosetta. I didn't even think of running Live in Rosetta, using the M1 beta. :)

Tarekith

Post by Tarekith » Fri Dec 17, 2021 2:46 pm

Another vote for clean install, especially with the new chip architecture. Good time to make sure you’re only installing the correct version of ARM supported apps.
Tarekith
Ableton Forum Administrator
https://tarekith.com

[jur]