"Include return and master effects" when exporting individual tracks

Discuss music production with Ableton Live.
SelleDVH

"Include return and master effects" when exporting individual tracks

Post by SelleDVH » Tue Jan 11, 2022 9:16 pm

Am I correctly understanding that this function does not mean that I can export a mastered song, with a limiter on the master, in individual tracks?

In other words: are all tracks going through the master individually? If that is the case there would be no master limiting because the limiter does not react unless the whole song is going through it.

If I am correctly understanding this, how can I have my mastered song in individual tracks? Does rendering the master while soloing tracks work?

SelleDVH

Re: "Include return and master effects" when exporting individual tracks

Post by SelleDVH » Tue Jan 11, 2022 10:29 pm

Ill add some context: after exporting my song with “selected tracks only” and putting the rendered tracks in new Liveset, the master of this new set showed true peak values way higher (between 1 and 3db) than the limiters ceiling in the original liveset. One of the reasons I came up with was the above mentioned.

jestermgee

Post by jestermgee » Tue Jan 11, 2022 10:49 pm

If you export individual tracks you are not exporting the master so no, whatever you place on the master is not exported with each track. The master is where your tracks are all merged and mixed to a single output.... What you are now choosing to do in another application or process so you forget yopur master plugins and instead, add those onto your new application/process

If you are exporting tracks for the purpose of "mastering" them in another application then you don't want a master limiter/compressor on them, you want to export that then do your master limiting/compression on the master track in your mastering setup. This will be why you export using 32bit so you have all the dynamic range of tracks that may be in the red.