1-button solution for fading clips (sound design for theatre)

Share your favorite Ableton Live tips, tricks, and techniques.
Dugrok

1-button solution for fading clips (sound design for theatre)

Post by Dugrok » Mon Jan 24, 2022 9:39 pm

Hi everyone,

I'm a musician and sound designer and have been using Ableton for almost a year now (transitioning from using Reaper for the last 10).

Some context
I'm loving session view and what it offers me in my sound design work. It does require me to think about things differently sometimes, but that's ok!

I'm currently working on a play and completing my first sound design done and operated completely in Ableton.

There are a number of cues in this show that are ambient-ish noise. Sometimes certain parts of them have noise that is immediately identifiable (a child laughing, a gun shot, etc) and some are more drone-like.

The ask
I need a solution to fade clips that have already started playing using a 1-button solution as I will not be operating the show (the stage director will and there isn't time to teach her how to use Ableton... especially considering I'm already going against the grain by insisting on Ableton instead of industry-standard Qlabs). It can be simply to launch another scene (in fact, ideally it would be that). If there's a way to do this with a single clip, that would be amazing.

In fact, if there were some sort of way to say "hey clip, when I press this button again, fade for 3 seconds/3 beats" that would be great.

I used to get around this kind of thing in Qlabs by doing a crossfade to the target "ambient sound" and it worked pretty well (but was a PITA to program repeatedly).