Help! Live 9 glitched during gigs!

Discuss music production with Ableton Live.
kebabman

Help! Live 9 glitched during gigs!

Post by kebabman » Wed May 11, 2022 12:26 pm

Hi there

I've got Live 9 running on a 2012 mbp, 8 gig RAM.

I've prepared my Live set for performance and am triggering scenes in order down the session view page using a Launchpad Mk 2. Each scene is chopped into intro, verse chorus etc.

I've been rehearsing this for the last 6 months and all has been fine in the studio.

I've done 2 gigs recently and was alarmed when after I triggered the next scene in Live using the Launchpad, there was a delay before Live played the scene. This problem has never occured during the studio! It was almost like Live was waiting for a scene to finish before triggering the next. I've checked quantize settings and all are as they have been (1/4). I originally thought there may be a hardware problem with the buttons on the launchpad. I don't think this is the case though.

On the Launchpad there is also a function to scroll up or down to the next or previous song. I found that I was pressing this 7 or 8 times to change songs and then after I stopped pressing I could see Live moving through the scenes - a delay of a second or 2.

This is a very intermittent issue and it doesn't always do it on the same songs/scenes. It all seems random. Ableton scene selection will be quite laggy for maybe 30 seconds and then thankfully everything returns to normal.

I'm wondering if my mbp is trying to perform some function in the background but it's all disconnected from the internet. Furthermore, I've never had this happen in studio rehearsals - just on stage :(

Any ideas or advice greatly received?

Many thanks
If I'm not there I'll cut my hair...

fishmonkey

Re: Help! Live 9 glitched during gigs!

Post by fishmonkey » Wed May 11, 2022 12:48 pm