Ableton Mixing Question

Discuss music production with Ableton Live.
SIGMA7

Ableton Mixing Question

Post by SIGMA7 » Sun Jul 03, 2022 1:50 pm

HI,

I have a question about mixing in Ableton 11.

I've been producing for many years although at a junior level. I am still learning and my question is this:

I start a new project file, select my samples and start composing, adjusting the volume levels of each track as I go along.

Now lets say I am running hot, like -1 dB on the master.

What I do to correct this is that I select all of the tracks (except for the master) and then move one volume slider down 4 dB which in turn moves ALL the selected tracks volume sliders down in sync.

I now have -5 dB in the master which is a good amount to leave for headroom for mastering later on.

Is that an ok way to do it or am I ruining my mix?

Thanks.

Tarekith

Re: Ableton Mixing Question

Post by Tarekith » Sun Jul 03, 2022 3:14 pm

Nope, that’s a fine way to do it. You can also just turn the master fader down 4dB too, that’s what it’s there for. Either method is fine, and in this case there’s no downsides to either method.
Tarekith
Ableton Forum Administrator
https://tarekith.com

Angstrom

Post by Angstrom » Mon Jul 04, 2022 1:10 am

I'm always a bit wary of lowering all the faders as you described - selecting them all and moving one down. There are problems with this method
There are lots of post-fader gain dependent effects which will be impacted.

EG
the case where a bunch of tracks are bused to another. The three tracks are driving the bus channel effects. If they are gain dependent effects then a lower input gain will alter the sound.

EG. If we create three drum tracks and also an empty audio track called Bus. Now we rout the drums to the bus channel. Set Bus to monitor on, set the outputs of the drums to Bus. Put a Glue compressor on Bus.
Now if the Master is peaking and we lower drum tracks 1,2 and 3 the sound of Glue will subtly change.