Do presets not work in Ableton live 11 intro??

Discuss music production with Ableton Live.
lovvly

Do presets not work in Ableton live 11 intro??

Post by lovvly » Mon Aug 08, 2022 7:07 am

I'm a newbie at music production and a broke uni student so I only have the intro version for Ableton. I was looking to buy some vocal presets and found this preset pack for a good price so I went ahead and bought it. The pack stated that it was compatible with Ableton live 11 so I assumed that it was compatible with the intro version too as it had not stated that it wasn't. Unfortunately every time I tried loading a preset from the pack it would always say "this device is not available in this version of live." I was quite upset especially since the product was non-refundable and I can't even use it anyways. I checked to see if presets in general work in the intro version and every preset I've tried to load doesn't work. I'm just hoping that I'm only doing something wrong with installing or whatever because I'd hate to waste my money like this. Especially when the pack did not state that the intro version isn't compatible and the fact that Ableton didn't specify what they meant by "this device is not available in this version of live" because they also never stated that presets don't work on the intro version

I'm sorry if this sounds so ranty but I was having a really bad day and was looking forward to using the new presets I bought but they didn't work so I'm quite upset.

miyaru

Re: Do presets not work in Ableton live 11 intro??

Post by miyaru » Mon Aug 08, 2022 7:52 am

You need Simpler or Sampler, one of the two if you load in as a MIDI track. If the presets are wave or aiff files you must load them in audio slots in session view.

I do not think Simpler nor Sampler are included in the intro version though, dunno I have Live 10 Suite.......

Edit: intro has Simpler, that should do the trick.

https://www.ableton.com/en/live/compare-editions/
Greetings from Miyaru.