How to Minimize Latency?

Discuss music production with Ableton Live.
slelmir

How to Minimize Latency?

Post by slelmir » Tue Feb 07, 2023 6:59 pm

Hi everybody, I'm new to Ableton and music software in general. I was wondering what might be the best way to minimize the latency in Ableton Live, because if I want to play these VST instruments live I'd like to have the least latency possible.

My setup is a Novation Launchkey 88 USB straight into my laptop (Acer Predator Helios) opened up in Ableton Live 11 Lite.
Going off the MME/DirectX driver at a 96000 sample rate and everything else default, I have 42.7 ms of overall latency.
I've also downloaded the ASIO4All v2 driver. At 96000 sample rate and everything default, I have 13.1 ms of overall latency.

However, the ASIO driver changes the quality of the sound of my VSTs drastically, and I'm not sure what the problem is. I turned off the Dolby Audio settings, I didn't see any enhancements on my speakers that I needed to turn off. And that's as far as I've gotten. Thanks for any advice you guys can give me!

slelmir

Re: How to Minimize Latency?

Post by slelmir » Fri Feb 10, 2023 1:53 am

Trevbo wrote:
Tue Feb 07, 2023 7:46 pm
slelmir wrote:
Tue Feb 07, 2023 6:59 pm
Hi everybody, I'm new to Ableton and music software in general. I was wondering what might be the best way to minimize the latency in Ableton Live, because if I want to play these VST instruments live I'd like to have the least latency possible.

My setup is a Novation Launchkey 88 USB straight into my laptop (Acer Predator Helios) opened up in Ableton Live 11 Lite.
Going off the MME/DirectX driver at a 96000 sample rate and everything else default, I have 42.7 ms of overall latency.
I've also downloaded the ASIO4All v2 driver. At 96000 sample rate and everything default, I have 13.1 ms of overall latency.