LIVE FIVE PERFORMANCE TEST - results here

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
chrysalis33rpm
Posts: 1020
Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2004 9:56 pm
Location: San Francisco

Post by chrysalis33rpm » Thu Nov 10, 2005 10:36 pm

1) Ableton Live CPU Meter 50%
2) IMac G5
3) OS 10.4.3
4) 2.0 Ghz
5) 1 GB RAM
6) M-audio FW 410
7) Hard Disk Drive Speed ?


Thanks.

smutek
Posts: 4489
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2003 3:30 pm
Location: Baltimore,United States

Post by smutek » Fri Nov 11, 2005 6:05 am

1) Ableton Live CPU Meter % - 37%
2) Laptop/Desktop? Make/Model - Apple G5
3) Operating System - OSX 10.4.2
4) CPU Make Model and Speed - G5 Dual Core 2ghz
5) Amount of Ram / Speed of Ram (if you know) 512MB / DDR2 SDRAM
6) Soundcard (Stock or add on?, usb/firewire/pci ?) - Stock Core Audio card
7) Hard Disk Drive Speed (if you know) - 7200rpm

Q
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 8:14 pm

Post by Q » Mon Nov 14, 2005 8:23 pm

1: ableton cpu load 22%
2: desktop
3: windows xp pro sp2
4: asus 939 sli,
5: 3200+ overclocked from stock 2000 to 2653
6: 1024ram timings overclocked,
7: audigy 2zs.
8: harddrive 36gig raptor 1000rpm

iam happy :D

bouyakaboy
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Dec 08, 2004 3:34 pm

Post by bouyakaboy » Thu Nov 17, 2005 10:27 am

1) 23%
2) Asus W3V-H019P
3) Win XP Pro SP2
4) Centrino 2.0GHz
5) 1GB
6) Access virus Ti Desktop

mhz
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 5:41 pm

Post by mhz » Thu Nov 17, 2005 11:44 am

1 : 24%
2 : notebook / faet v5.x
3 : windows xp pro / sp2
4 : intel centrino / 2 Ghz
5 : 1 Gb / DDR2 (533 Mhz ???)
6 : m-audio quattro / usb
7 : 5400 rpm

Thanks for this test , it is very useful i think

Leftofsix
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2005 9:52 pm
Location: Scotland, UK

G5 Quad

Post by Leftofsix » Wed Nov 23, 2005 4:35 pm

Just got my Quad G5

2.5GHz Quad-core PowerPC G5
8GB DDR533 NON ECC
500GB Serial ATA-7200rpm
Mac OS X Tiger 10.4.3

Peak: 30%
Lowest: 27%

Since Live isn't multi-processor aware this result is obviously based on only one of the four cores (2.5 G5)

subterFUSE
Posts: 1557
Joined: Tue May 31, 2005 11:04 pm
Location: Winter Park, FL

Post by subterFUSE » Wed Nov 23, 2005 5:12 pm

That's a good score, though.
Finally, an Apple that has done well on this test.... :wink:

koranek
Posts: 462
Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2003 3:51 am
Location: You got to be somewhere

Post by koranek » Wed Nov 23, 2005 9:44 pm

It must be really REALLY frustrating to realize that 3/4 of your Quad Mac is just sitting there. On the other hand, you can play Quake and run Live without a glitch in either. :wink:
Licensed Counselor
johnkoranekcounseling.com
https://soundcloud.com/johnkoranek

2020 27" iMac i9 10 core, 64G Ram, OS 10.15.7
Push 2
Novation SL MKIII
iConnectAudio 2+, iConnectMidi 4+
Live 10 Sweet

toMX
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2005 2:37 pm

Post by toMX » Thu Nov 24, 2005 2:41 pm

1) Ableton Live CPU Meter - 31% - 5ms latency
2) Laptop/Desktop? - Desktop
3) Operating System - XP SP2
4) CPU Make Model and Speed - Athlon XP 3200+
5) Amount of Ram / Speed of Ram - 1gb 400mhz
6) Soundcard - Soundcard on Motherboard ;)
7) Hard Disk Drive Speed - 7200rpm

ellak
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Aug 12, 2004 1:26 pm
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Contact:

Post by ellak » Sun Nov 27, 2005 9:53 am

1) 33% bounces between 31% -35%
2) Laptop IBM Thinkpad T41
3) Win XP SP2
4) Centrino 1.4 Mhz
5) 512 Mb
6) Indigo IO pci
7) 5400

acileli
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Aug 13, 2005 1:56 pm

Post by acileli » Sun Nov 27, 2005 3:18 pm

1) 21% max - 19% min
2) Desktop (newly-built & homemade around a DFI NF4 board)
3) Win XP SP2
4) AMD X2 4800+
5) 2gb DDR
6) FF800
7) WD raptor 74g system, Samsung 160g Audio

The performance test is running now, and cpu usage stays the same even with Firefox and Everest open. Wonder how cool it would be if Live utilized both cores :)

Oddly enough, i reduced latency to the fireface minimum 48 samples and cpu usage only increases by 1-2% with no clicks/pops and stable till the cows come home.

Eat your heart out Apple..(sorry, couldn't resist. My ex-boss was an Apple devotee)

sonorous3
Posts: 222
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2005 8:10 pm

Post by sonorous3 » Sun Nov 27, 2005 6:53 pm

PC

1) Ableton Live CPU Meter % - 55%
2) Laptop/Desktop? Make/Model - Desktop
3) Operating System - xp
4) CPU Make Model and Speed - p4 3.0
5) Amount of Ram / Speed of Ram (if you know) 1gb ddr
6) Soundcard (Stock or add on?, usb/firewire/pci ?) - audiophile firewire
7) Hard Disk Drive Speed (if you know) - 5400rpm

laptop



1) Ableton Live CPU Meter % - 29%** bounces from 26-29, much better than my desktop =D
2) Laptop/Desktop? Make/Model - laptop, toshiba
3) Operating System - xp
4) CPU Make Model and Speed - centrino 1.73ghz PM 740
5) Amount of Ram / Speed of Ram (if you know) 1gb ddr2
6) Soundcard (Stock or add on?, usb/firewire/pci ?) - audiophile firewire
7) Hard Disk Drive Speed (if you know) - 5400rpm

**When i set to 512 samples, i get this, however latency goes to 27ms. When i set the sample buffer to 256 samples, i get a max. 32% cpu usage but latency is 13ms...something doesnt right there.

diverdee
Posts: 164
Joined: Tue May 03, 2005 12:11 am
Location: Bradford - The Armpit of Britain

Post by diverdee » Sun Nov 27, 2005 10:06 pm

1) Ableton Live CPU Meter - avg 27% couple of peaks at 29%
2) desktop - homebuilt based on msi k8n neo2 mainboard nforce 3 250 chipset.
3) Operating System: windows xp no service packs
4) CPU Make Model and Speed: amd 64 X2 4400 toledo (set affinity to one core at 2200mhz) no overclocking yet.
5) Amount of Ram/ peed of ram: 2 x 1 gig of dual channel corsair xms3200 DDR400 / CAS : 2-3-3-6* (cpu-z reads as 200.9 mhz)
6) Soundcard : creamware pulsar 2 running at 64 samples/2,93 m/s latency.
7) Hard Disk Drive Speed 7200 rpm

Really pleased with my new machine - still got one core left to run a gazillion reason devices with, & seems to allow the pulsar to utilise real low latency with no glitchiness so far - ding dong :)

dtm
Posts: 47
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 2:23 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Post by dtm » Mon Nov 28, 2005 5:44 am

acileli wrote:1) 21% max - 19% min
2) Desktop (newly-built & homemade around a DFI NF4 board)
3) Win XP SP2
4) AMD X2 4800+
5) 2gb DDR
6) FF800
7) WD raptor 74g system, Samsung 160g Audio

The performance test is running now, and cpu usage stays the same even with Firefox and Everest open. Wonder how cool it would be if Live utilized both cores :)

Oddly enough, i reduced latency to the fireface minimum 48 samples and cpu usage only increases by 1-2% with no clicks/pops and stable till the cows come home.

Eat your heart out Apple..(sorry, couldn't resist. My ex-boss was an Apple devotee)
Nice system dude :D goes to show you really do get what you pay for. How much did it cost, if you dont mind me asking?
Lenovo W510 (touch i7 920xm 16GB 1333MHz Ram,2xSSD),RME FF800,Edirol 8x8 midi,Doepfer MAQ16/3,TLA Fat1,Korg KP2,Pioneer FX1000,Allen&Heath 14:4:2,Manifold Labs Plugzilla,Poly Evolver,Machinedrum,TB303,TR909,MPC3000.. and no free TIME to USE IT >:(

alan*
Posts: 260
Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2005 11:55 pm
Location: Perth, Australia
Contact:

Post by alan* » Mon Nov 28, 2005 2:32 pm

AdamJay wrote:alan
are you sure you're at 44.1khz in audio prefs and not 48khz?
Just noticed this post from before, yes, for sure.
2.16ghz mbp 3gb, motu ultralite

http://myspace.com/indijika

Post Reply