All times are UTC

Post subject: Help!! Using Ableton Live 5 with 01x & Midi Hardware
PostPosted: Wed Aug 17, 2005 5:01 pm 

Can someone tell me basically how to set up Ableton Live 5 with the Yamaha 01x and other midi hardware???
I've recently gained access to a studio which has a PC running Ableton, USB keyboard, a Yamaha o1x, a Korg Triton, Korg MS2000, and an Electribe.

I'm fairly new to MIDI, so there's still lots of things I need to get my head round, but basically I've got Ableton working with the 01x as a controller, and with the USB keyboard, but i'm not sure how to set it up to work with all the other hardware. eg. getting them all in sync and recording audio and midi from them. I feel i'm on the brink of getting it all to work, but any help would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers

Rokko

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 22, 2005 6:02 pm 

Thanks for sharing your wisdom!

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 22, 2005 7:20 pm 

you're going to have to first sit down and map out how you want your midi routing to happen.

you've got 3 midi devices, and only two physical midi ports on the 01X, so somewhere in the chain, you'll have to use a midi thru (e.g. on the Triton)...

I'd suggest starting with something like this:

- The Triton is a pretty good master keyboard on its own, so make it the "Master".... run midi cables (both in and out) to the first pair of in/out midi connectors on the 01X.

- Run the Midi Out from the 01X's second Midi pair to the MS2000 Midi In.

- Run a cable from the Triton's Midi Thru to the Electribe Midi In.

That will give you basic routing, with all devices controllable from the Triton.

The 01X has 5 Midi ports, mapped like this (identical for both in and out):

- Midi 01: Carries control info between the 01X and computer (for controlling Live, et al)
- Midi 02: Carries midi data to/from the first set of physical ports
- Midi 03: Carries midi data to/from the second set of physical ports