Latency hell!!!

Discuss music production with Ableton Live.
chino2012

Latency hell!!!

Post by chino2012 » Sun Aug 21, 2005 10:53 pm

I just got the Mobilepre USB and Live 4. All i want to do is record some basic guitar, add some lead and throw on a drum machine. I have managed to get my overal latency down to 13 ms but there is still enough of a delay that when i play my second guitar track over the first it is off. I am a total novice to recording and this program. I just want to get rid of the latency so i can record some songs SOMEONE PLEASE HELP!!

Clearscreen

Post by Clearscreen » Mon Aug 22, 2005 12:01 am

try www.asio4all.com as that drivers tends to cut latency by a lot. USB unfortunately isn't the best bus for latency though. firewire is better, and pci/pcmcia are probably the best. the reality is you can only minimise latency, not ever actually get rid of it. once you start getting below 10 ms total it's generally good enough to use though, and using asio4all i've had my usb edirol UA20 soundcard down to 64 samples stably.
good luck, hope it works for you!
Hp Elitebook 2.8Ghz. Live 7.0.14 & Live 8.1.5, XP Pro. and stuff...

chino2012

Post by chino2012 » Mon Aug 22, 2005 12:10 am

Yeah tried that already, thanks though. It seems im pretty much screwed witht the USB unit I have. Thanks anyways.

Clearscreen

Post by Clearscreen » Mon Aug 22, 2005 12:26 am

not necessarily - have you shifted your second guitar track in the recording? you should be able to move things back into time that way. also, do you qualify of the free live 5 upgrade, as this has manual latency adjustment per track which could potentially solve your problem.
Hp Elitebook 2.8Ghz. Live 7.0.14 & Live 8.1.5, XP Pro. and stuff...

husker

Re: Latency hell!!!

Post by husker » Mon Aug 22, 2005 12:27 am