Anyone building a custom controller?

Discuss music production with Ableton Live.
DJ Padawan

Anyone building a custom controller?

Post by DJ Padawan » Thu Sep 01, 2005 12:05 am

Is there anyone out there building a custom midi controller? Post your advice or projects.

Michael-SW

Post by Michael-SW » Thu Sep 01, 2005 1:20 am

MrYellow

Post by MrYellow » Thu Sep 01, 2005 2:33 am

Kit form? PIC programming?

What kinda level u looking at?

I've been writting software for a piezo trigger drummachine with velocity....
Got it down for 1 channel, got the LCD worked out..... just bit busy to finish
it off as 8 channels with the LCD all in the one bit of code.

Learning ASM wasn't so hard..... but then I am a programmer.....

I image the kit form stuff is really easy, especially seeing that the MIDIOS
from MIDIBox is really well developed.

-Ben

elemental

Post by elemental » Thu Sep 01, 2005 9:55 am

i've been thinking abou this again. As much as I like the faderfoxes, the idea of a proper mixer-style custom controller is enticing me ...

If there was a way of replicating a very simplified version of the ableton session view, using say 4 rows of 16 slots, with a little LCD for each one displaying its name, with dedicated buttons for scene select, and a mute, solo, start/stop for each channel, plus at least 3 pots for eq and fx send on each channel.

That would be sweet!

fall

Post by fall » Thu Sep 01, 2005 10:47 am

I don't think it would be possible to have leds that display clip names etc. Midi doesn't send out this kind of data. Maybe with usb but I don't know if you would be able to write software that interfaces with live in such a way.

I just use a (very cheap - 10 euro or something) arcade-style joystick... I use up/down for switchin scenes, and it's got eight buttons, which I use for starting and stopping clips in the currently selected scene.
Then I use a ps2-style controller for playing with FX, and the mouse wheel for cross fading.

robin