Why is Live so slooooow?!?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
EddieHowell
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2005 7:19 am

Why is Live so slooooow?!?

Post by EddieHowell » Sun Sep 18, 2005 8:46 pm

Compared to all other sequencers I've used, Live is very slow when doing simpler tasks like:

- moving clips in arrange view
- setting input & output buses
- duplicating events

My computer is up to speed okay, but it takes around 8 seconds for me to select a clip & drag it elsewhere. Anyone else getting this obscurity?

Regards
Eddie Howell

ishimaru
Posts: 507
Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2004 6:29 am
Location: Irvine , California
Contact:

Re: Why is Live so slooooow?!?

Post by ishimaru » Sun Sep 18, 2005 8:48 pm

EddieHowell wrote:Compared to all other sequencers I've used, Live is very slow when doing simpler tasks like:

- moving clips in arrange view
- setting input & output buses
- duplicating events

My computer is up to speed okay, but it takes around 8 seconds for me to select a clip & drag it elsewhere. Anyone else getting this obscurity?

Regards
Eddie Howell
PC or Mac? Machine specs?
Every situation(1) should be confronted with its opposite(2) to come to a better situation(3).

1 Thesis
2 Antithesis
3 Synthesis

- Hegel

EddieHowell
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2005 7:19 am

Post by EddieHowell » Sun Sep 18, 2005 8:50 pm

PC
64 Bit Athlon 3800+
1GB DDR RAM
120GB hard SATA hard drive (session is stored on a dedicated drive)

ishimaru
Posts: 507
Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2004 6:29 am
Location: Irvine , California
Contact:

Post by ishimaru » Sun Sep 18, 2005 9:04 pm

Have you done a proper reformat of your system? Are you running anything intensive in the bckground?

Try this out too.

http://www.ableton.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=24715

Adam Jay is a genius. Compare your system specs to one already tested to see how your performance test should be. :)
Every situation(1) should be confronted with its opposite(2) to come to a better situation(3).

1 Thesis
2 Antithesis
3 Synthesis

- Hegel

milfbait
Posts: 264
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 6:13 am
Location: Abletonia

Post by milfbait » Sun Sep 18, 2005 11:25 pm

I've found live does get pretty slow once you get a pretty big cpu heavy project going and you try to copy or move things in the arrange view. If everything else is ok, I doubt you need to reformat, it's just the way live is.

ashley_k
Posts: 349
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2004 6:37 pm
Location: Kent, UK

Post by ashley_k » Sun Sep 18, 2005 11:59 pm

Live has always has been a bit slow when moving clips around in the arrange view and still is in version 5.
I just love it when I accidentally select everything and moving it.
You can always cut, copy and paste.


Today’s Bonus Odd One Out Competition:
Leonardo Da Vinci
Albert Einstein
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Sir Isaac Newton
Adam Jay

call 0900 453875684 our operators are standing by
you could win $10,000, you don’t need to be genius to work it out.

atomic
Posts: 403
Joined: Sat Oct 30, 2004 9:45 pm
Location: Toronto, Can

Post by atomic » Mon Sep 19, 2005 12:27 am

live just responds slowly with these things.

I figure it is because the focus of the program is for live use and it is putting the audio WAY ahead in priority over GUI and copy and paste type features. Also it is slow to move things but once you let go of the mouse and have them in place the response is instant. Again I just think it is the way it is designed.
ABIT NF7+AMDXP@2500, RME Multiface, TC Powercore Element+Virus, UAD-1, Nord Lead2, Reason2.5, impOSCar, Microtonic, Reaktor5 and some other stuff...

AdamJay
Posts: 4757
Joined: Thu Mar 11, 2004 7:17 pm
Location: Indianapolis, USA

Post by AdamJay » Mon Sep 19, 2005 12:34 am

ashley_k wrote: Today’s Bonus Odd One Out Competition:
Leonardo Da Vinci
Albert Einstein
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Sir Isaac Newton
Adam Jay

call 0900 453875684 our operators are standing by
you could win $10,000, you don’t need to be genius to work it out.
LMFAO!!!!
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

edit: damn, i just realized i'm probably ineligible to win.

jtpack
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Jan 20, 2003 4:42 pm
Location: London, Ontario, Canada

Post by jtpack » Mon Sep 19, 2005 1:30 am

This lag when attempting to copy or move a clip happens to me, and it drives me crazy. Casual testing indicates that it may be more likely to happen if session has midi tracks in it.
Windows XP, Live 5.2, Pro Tools LE 7.1cs7, Reason 3.0.4, M-Audio Delta 410, MBOX, Synthmaker

timothyallan
Posts: 5788
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 11:05 pm
Location: Melbourne Australia
Contact:

Post by timothyallan » Mon Sep 19, 2005 1:45 am

My default template has 24 audio tracks and 8 midi tracks. Even with only 1 clip in arrange view it still takes about 10-15 seconds to pick up a clip and drop it.

I was getting top performance in the live 5 performance test on my setup too...

Its painful going to cubase and seeing how instant the clip movements are :(

mike holiday
Posts: 2433
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 8:52 pm
Location: NOW

Post by mike holiday » Mon Sep 19, 2005 2:08 am

clips move fast (session and arrange) for me and my system is slower then crap

1GHz G4

5.0.1 has a copy/paste issue but everything moves quick for me
especially that cpu meter, i hate gettin that thing to 85% with 2 tracks
after i break 55% eveything starts slowing....

ashley_k
Posts: 349
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2004 6:37 pm
Location: Kent, UK

Post by ashley_k » Mon Sep 19, 2005 9:47 am

AdamJay wrote:
ashley_k wrote: Today’s Bonus Odd One Out Competition:
Leonardo Da Vinci
Albert Einstein
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Sir Isaac Newton
Adam Jay

call 0900 453875684 our operators are standing by
you could win $10,000, you don’t need to be genius to work it out.
LMFAO!!!!
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

edit: damn, i just realized i'm probably ineligible to win.

No more calls please we have a winner . . .

AdamJay glad you appreciated it and took it in the spirit it was intended.

hambone1
Posts: 5346
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2005 8:31 pm
Location: Abu Dhabi

Post by hambone1 » Mon Sep 19, 2005 9:55 am

Dragging a large Live clip in from the browser can be slow, but I found out that you don't have to wait for the screen redraw. Just drag it to the desired clip and let go. It will catch up without you having to wait for it.

DJRetard
Posts: 473
Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2005 8:48 am

Re: Why is Live so slooooow?!?

Post by DJRetard » Mon Sep 19, 2005 10:27 am

EddieHowell wrote:Compared to all other sequencers I've used, Live is very slow when doing simpler tasks like:

- moving clips in arrange view
- setting input & output buses
- duplicating events

My computer is up to speed okay, but it takes around 8 seconds for me to select a clip & drag it elsewhere. Anyone else getting this obscurity?

Regards
Eddie Howell

Dont take the advice of reformatting your drive. Bottom line is Live is a heavy CPU beast and you will just have to live with it im afraid.

timothyallan
Posts: 5788
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 11:05 pm
Location: Melbourne Australia
Contact:

Post by timothyallan » Mon Sep 19, 2005 10:54 am

Retards nailed it. Your drive isnt gonna help you one bit when your poor processor is getting nailed at 100%

Post Reply