Let's see your setup...

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
scottorlans
Posts: 101
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2005 10:51 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Contact:

Let's see your setup...

Post by scottorlans » Thu Oct 13, 2005 6:13 am

Couldn't find a thread like this so... I'll start:

Image
Scott Orlans (a.k.a. SEO)
Down Time Productions
Down Time Records
www.DownTimeProductions.com

AdamJay
Posts: 4757
Joined: Thu Mar 11, 2004 7:17 pm
Location: Indianapolis, USA

Post by AdamJay » Thu Oct 13, 2005 6:21 am

Scott,
i gotta ask how's that Tascam working for you with Live?
are you getting the EQ control on those knobs the same way they are labeled? are you using EQ4 or other plugs for EQs with that controller?

do tell bro. :)

amo
Posts: 1685
Joined: Sun Jun 20, 2004 10:30 am
Location: Paris/France
Contact:

Post by amo » Thu Oct 13, 2005 6:24 am

Hi Scott,

Just thought I would point that thread for you:
http://www.ableton.com/forum/viewtopic. ... ace+studio

old one but nice, if you like to see peoples set (and faces !)

Nice set up BTW !
Regards,
amo
Live 5.0.3 - IBM Thinkpad R51 1.5ghz Centrino - 1,5 Go RAM - 7200 RPM 2nd HDD intern - RME Multiface - Windows XP Pro SP2

scottorlans
Posts: 101
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2005 10:51 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Contact:

Post by scottorlans » Thu Oct 13, 2005 7:16 am

Ok well than this thread can be for setups with no faces... ;-)

As far as the Tascam, I'm still working on getting it the way I want. But I'm not trying for the "channel strip" function of the pan knobs, just using them as pans, and then you an press a button and they send MIDI cc which you can assign to anything knobby. I really want to write a MIDI Translator setup for it and customize everything. Still working on it...

So obviously this setup is pretty huge for most venues, unless they give you a table on the side. I'm also working on a "mini" setup with a CS-32 running through an intense MIDI Translator setup. But it's so much nicer to be able to spread out on the Tascam...
Scott Orlans (a.k.a. SEO)
Down Time Productions
Down Time Records
www.DownTimeProductions.com

scottorlans
Posts: 101
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2005 10:51 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Contact:

Post by scottorlans » Thu Oct 13, 2005 7:19 am

Oh and also, the pic above is just the "Live" portion of my setup, like what I would actually take on the road. The rest of my studio is below. I'm not showing off or anything, just really proud of my baby...

Image
Scott Orlans (a.k.a. SEO)
Down Time Productions
Down Time Records
www.DownTimeProductions.com

Airbase
Posts: 202
Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 1:05 pm
Location: Gothenburg
Contact:

Post by Airbase » Thu Oct 13, 2005 1:39 pm

Thats like 20 times too much stuff. The more equipment you got, the less inspired you get. Thats my personal experience though. Do you actually use all that stuff, or are they just old relics once used and now just there because they look good?

Also, what are those two round thingys down left of the screens?
Long Live Live.

jahnlay
Posts: 460
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2004 1:20 pm
Location: Johannesburg

Post by jahnlay » Thu Oct 13, 2005 1:48 pm

Here's mine, messy as usual!

Image

and

Image
"It's better to burn out than to fade away!"

Machinate
Posts: 11646
Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 2:15 pm
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Post by Machinate » Thu Oct 13, 2005 1:58 pm

airbase, there's no such thing as too much stuff - there's such a thing as "too much money spent on stuff" though ;) And that depends on how well off you are. oh, and that would be the http://www.future-retro.com/REVOLUTION.html

Scott, are you getting good sound out of those ns-10s? The placement seems a bit "untraditional". Also, the SID seems a bit out of place in your relatively hi-fi setup - how do you incorporate it?

Best,
Andreas
mbp 2.66, osx 10.6.8, 8GB ram.

incinereight
Posts: 57
Joined: Wed May 25, 2005 6:59 pm
Contact:

Post by incinereight » Thu Oct 13, 2005 2:04 pm

Image

mine

-m

smutek
Posts: 4489
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2003 3:30 pm
Location: Baltimore,United States

Post by smutek » Thu Oct 13, 2005 2:15 pm

scottorlans wrote:I'm not showing off or anything, just really proud of my baby...
As you should be. Dude, your studio looks like Apollo 13 or something.

Here's the same picture of my work area, taken in mid summer. Though, at the moment it looks a little bit different. The jp-8000 was on loan and has been returned and the rest of my gear has been temporarily taken down as of about three weeks ago to help me focus more on design work. Once school is out I will set everything back up, but I am definitely getting the itch.

Image

sweetjesus
Posts: 8803
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2004 3:12 pm
Location: www.fridge.net.au
Contact:

Post by sweetjesus » Thu Oct 13, 2005 2:20 pm

Airbase wrote:Thats like 20 times too much stuff. The more equipment you got, the less inspired you get. Thats my personal experience though. Do you actually use all that stuff, or are they just old relics once used and now just there because they look good?

Also, what are those two round thingys down left of the screens?

except for stuff like the 909 which is obviously vintage gear used for in effect and whatnot, most of the stuff there is made within the last 8 years or so.


Nice setup mate.

Moody
Posts: 2115
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2004 7:47 pm

Post by Moody » Thu Oct 13, 2005 2:50 pm

Image
Ableton’s engineers are hard
at work developing code that will allow our software to predict the future, but we don’t
anticipate having this available until at least the next major release.

MarkH
Posts: 658
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 6:52 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA.
Contact:

Post by MarkH » Thu Oct 13, 2005 3:31 pm

Considering he has about a dozen instruments or so, you think that's too much? Do you think Logic comes with too many instruments? Because it comes with more than a dozen but I don't see anyone complaining to Apple "please remove some of these plugins - it's too much". :P
Accidents are the portal to discovery!

Per Boysen
Posts: 1057
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2003 4:11 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Post by Per Boysen » Thu Oct 13, 2005 3:56 pm

Let me think... I have two major setups. First: Here's the mobile Electronix setuP:
Image



...and here's the stationary Acoustix setuP:
Image


...but for gigs I sometines bring the Flutronix setuP:
Image
Greetings from Sweden

Per Boysen
http://www.perboysen.com

ptvn
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2005 8:12 pm
Location: cambridge, MA, USA
Contact:

Post by ptvn » Thu Oct 13, 2005 4:44 pm

last year:
Image
now i have less computer monitors, smaller mixer, juno has been replaced with a prophet600, record storage has more than doubled, and added a laptop. i have condensed my gear to one (large) rack, one desk, and one triple keyboard stand. i never really play the keyboards, mostly use them for sequencing. turntables are away, i have been using LIVE5 for DJing the past few months...

Post Reply