can I overdub an arrangement?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
agoraphone
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2005 4:06 am
Location: Cambridge, MA, USA

can I overdub an arrangement?

Post by agoraphone » Mon Nov 07, 2005 4:15 am

Question from a Live newbie: I have a bunch of clips in one track. I hit the record button and trigger some clips with the qwerty keyboard and record a short arrangement.

It sounds pretty good, but I'd like to keep adding to it, so I rewind and start recording again. Now as soon as I trigger the first clip, everything in the arrangement is erased as soon as the playhead hits it. Isn't there a way to keep adding to the arrangement without destroying what I've already done?

I know this is something really simple that I'm missing, but I just don't get it. I guess the overdub button only applies to midi notes, right?

TIA!

Smashed Hat
Posts: 141
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2005 3:01 pm
Location: Manchester, UK
Contact:

Post by Smashed Hat » Mon Nov 07, 2005 7:04 pm

I've been using Live for a while now and I still can't figure this one out either.

Any help would be massively appreciated.
Scan 3xs Power DAW, Quad Core 2.66Ghz, 2 meg RAM, 3x500gig 7200rpm HDD's, M Audio FW1814

silliwilli
Posts: 46
Joined: Mon Oct 10, 2005 4:48 pm
Location: Edinburgh

Post by silliwilli » Mon Nov 07, 2005 7:32 pm

lol...just came across this problem myself...found myself having to render each section I do to disk.

peeddrroo
Posts: 4767
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2004 10:25 pm
Location: France

Post by peeddrroo » Mon Nov 07, 2005 8:19 pm

you should try recording in session (while your arrangement is still running in the background), and then move your recorded clips into the arrangement and edit them.

silliwilli
Posts: 46
Joined: Mon Oct 10, 2005 4:48 pm
Location: Edinburgh

Post by silliwilli » Mon Nov 07, 2005 8:33 pm

I do record in session view...but only want to do a little at a time and then go back and add more...but there doesn't seem to be a way to do this

agoraphone
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2005 4:06 am
Location: Cambridge, MA, USA

Post by agoraphone » Wed Nov 09, 2005 9:30 pm

So it sounds like you can't overdub an arrangement, which seems very strange to me. This is a very basic operation - I do it in Reason all the time. Why do they do it this way??? :(

peeddrroo
Posts: 4767
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2004 10:25 pm
Location: France

Post by peeddrroo » Wed Nov 09, 2005 9:40 pm

i haven't praticed reason for a long time, so i may be wrong.
though: if you do it in reason, it means it's only midi, and that you can do easily in Live: just switch OVR to on, press the main record button (F9), here you go... you're overdubbing the track(s) that is armed.

TomTom
Posts: 66
Joined: Thu Nov 18, 2004 3:41 pm

Post by TomTom » Thu Nov 10, 2005 4:56 pm

Hit the big red "return to arrangement" button in Live's transport bar before recording your new jam, the arrangement view will remain unaltered (with the exception of those clips you override in session view).

pix
Posts: 261
Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2004 8:32 am

Post by pix » Thu Nov 10, 2005 6:53 pm

I may be wrong but I think it'll only record over the tracks that are armed. If you desrm the ones you don't want to rec over you should be fine.

longjohns
Posts: 9088
Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2003 3:42 pm
Location: seattle

Post by longjohns » Fri Nov 11, 2005 6:06 am

try routing the audio of the track with all your clips to the input of a separate track, just for recording the arrangement. then when you want to do some overdubbing, move to another track so the first arrangement recording isn't lost. repeat as desired

Post Reply