M-Audio Audiophile 2496 PCI Aucio Card Users

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
Guest

M-Audio Audiophile 2496 PCI Aucio Card Users

Post by Guest » Mon Mar 17, 2003 8:53 pm

I use a 2496 and I would like to play Reason and add outboard efx to the signal and then record that signal back into Live.

Is there a way to do this without getting feedback loops.
the 2496 only 2/in and 2/out

Guest

Post by Guest » Tue Mar 18, 2003 4:31 am

bump

jdg
Posts: 181
Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2002 6:04 am
Location: seattle USA
Contact:

Post by jdg » Tue Mar 18, 2003 4:52 am

yeah you could do it, but you'd need a mixer with two stereo buses.

out computer into one channel.. insert or use send efx channel on mixer, route other bus or set of outputs back into computer.

hope that helps
www.google.com

best website ever

Guest

Post by Guest » Tue Mar 18, 2003 5:21 am

i've got a mackie 1202vlz

Guest

Post by Guest » Tue Mar 18, 2003 5:25 am

jdg, thanks for the help, i'm not sure I understand could you explain again,

:?

jdg
Posts: 181
Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2002 6:04 am
Location: seattle USA
Contact:

Post by jdg » Tue Mar 18, 2003 6:14 am

ok.. several ways to do it with the 1202..

it has the alt 3-4 outputs on the back panel.

also has insert points for insert effects, also has a nice send bus.

so you have all you need :D

so send effect is easier to hook up with it..

patch your efx into your send in/out.

now patch your out of your audiophile into one the the channels

then patch the alt 3-4 output on the back panel into the in on your computer...

now adjust the send levels for the effects, and hit the 'mute, alt 3-4' button on your channel (sends the output to your computer)

make sense?
www.google.com

best website ever

Guest

Post by Guest » Tue Mar 18, 2003 8:48 pm

thank you JDG, I got it.

jdg
Posts: 181
Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2002 6:04 am
Location: seattle USA
Contact:

Post by jdg » Tue Mar 18, 2003 8:52 pm

sweet! those 1202s are nice little mixers.. lots of options if you don't mind fiddlin'
www.google.com

best website ever

Guest

Avoiding Feedback

Post by Guest » Thu Mar 20, 2003 5:54 pm

Once you've run the audio back into the Audiophile, make sure if you have the patchbay set to Monitor Mixer that the Hardware 1/2 in is set to MUTE. You'll still be able to record from that input, but it won't get fed back into the output (thus starting feedback).

Philip

Post Reply