Converting stereo track to mono without losing stereo sound

Discuss music production with Ableton Live.
CloudyJim

Converting stereo track to mono without losing stereo sound

Post by CloudyJim » Wed Dec 28, 2005 4:30 am

I have a guitar miced with a matched pair, I like the outcome. However, i want to be able to pan the entire sound, without losing one of the mics. Make sense?

What is the best method for getting the entire stereo field condensed to a mono track for panning?

I am new to recording in general, so if i am barking up the wrong tree with this idea, please let me know.

thanks,

stinky

Bounce to Stereo?

Post by stinky » Wed Dec 28, 2005 4:39 am

Why not just bounce the tracks to a stereo, or send them both to one audio channel, and pan the audio channel? Maybe i'm missing something in your query?

CloudyJim

Post by CloudyJim » Wed Dec 28, 2005 6:24 pm

Stinky,

I am just trying to figure out the best method of getting the full sound of stereo micing in a mono track. Bouncing the tracks is the first thing I thought of, but I thought there may be a better method out there than recording and bouncing. This seems a bit tedious when recording quick ideas, "on the fly", in session view.

There seems to be a lot of tricks these days and there are a lot of utilities out there and I don't know much about any of them.

stinky

Post by stinky » Wed Dec 28, 2005 9:41 pm

Well, if you don't want to bounce, you'll have a full range of motion and options by routing both channels to one audio channel, and using just that one audio channel... then you won't have to keep bouncing... my advice, try not to make it more complex than it has to be... then you won't waste alot of time.. if you think of something later, you can always go back to it... cheers...

oldbetseysatan

Post by oldbetseysatan » Wed Dec 28, 2005 10:00 pm