Audio interface problems?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live

Audio interface problem poll... Mac OS 10.4 users only

I use an M-Audio interface, and everything works perfectly
17
31%
I use an M-Audio interface, and have audio problems
15
27%
I do not use an M-Audio interface, and everything works perfectly
17
31%
I do not use an M-Audio interface, and have audio problems
6
11%
 
Total votes: 55

hambone1
Posts: 5346
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2005 8:31 pm
Location: Abu Dhabi

Audio interface problems?

Post by hambone1 » Sat Dec 31, 2005 1:25 pm

Since I ditched my M-Audio interface for mLAN, everything's been great. It's unfortunate, because I really liked the Ozonic. I couldn't risk gigging with it, though.

For those of you using OS 10.4 and Live 5.0.3, I'd like to know if the popping/clicking/other issues in Tiger is Apple's Firewire implementation (as Ableton claim), M-Audio interfaces, or Live.

If you could specify your setup, that may help. Also, if you DO have problems with your M-Audio interface in Live, do you have the same problem in other audio applications? I used Peak and iTunes a lot with my Ozonic, and can't remember any problems.

P.S. I posted this in General and not Bugs and Problems so most folks would see it.

hambone1
Posts: 5346
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2005 8:31 pm
Location: Abu Dhabi

Post by hambone1 » Sat Dec 31, 2005 9:21 pm

bump

lerky
Posts: 383
Joined: Mon Oct 18, 2004 1:50 pm

Post by lerky » Sat Dec 31, 2005 9:39 pm

I have a fw410, apart from occasionally having to reinstall the drivers because the computer cant find the soundcard all is well.
I do set my buffer to stupidly large setting or I get the snap crackle and pops, but maybe thats live5.
I use the 8 outs going into my mixer and coax digital out of mixer back into the 410.
Haven't got anything to compare it to so for my £200 I'm fairly happy.
Was even thinking to get the projectmix but maybe I just stick with what I got for a while

henry ford
Posts: 690
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2005 4:30 am

Post by henry ford » Sat Dec 31, 2005 9:47 pm

i think its the firewire connection thats causing probs , and does mLAN use your ethernet connection ?

hambone1
Posts: 5346
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2005 8:31 pm
Location: Abu Dhabi

Post by hambone1 » Sat Dec 31, 2005 9:55 pm

mLAN is Firewire, too. It works perfectly. That's why I suspect that this is an M-Audio issue, not Apple.

lerky
Posts: 383
Joined: Mon Oct 18, 2004 1:50 pm

Post by lerky » Sat Dec 31, 2005 10:09 pm

how is the O1V hambone?
I've got an old Promix01 which is ok for a beginner, but I kind of like the layout of thier mixers.
How much is the mLAN card?
Last edited by lerky on Sat Dec 31, 2005 10:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.

simon803
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2005 10:22 am
Location: glasgow
Contact:

Post by simon803 » Sat Dec 31, 2005 10:09 pm

I've got a quattro which is usb (I know I know I need to upgrade) but I still have weird problems most times. I've not had any problems when using the onboard soundcards with any version of live 5 so I can only imagine it's an m audio problem.
17" macbook pro (2.33 ghz / 2 gb ram) osx 10.4.10
m audio quattro or (more often) the onboard card
midisport 2x2
some outboard synths and a lot of big black boxes that weigh a lot and make loud noises.

rikhyray
Posts: 3644
Joined: Wed Aug 25, 2004 12:13 pm
Contact:

Post by rikhyray » Sat Dec 31, 2005 10:32 pm

I had horrible problems ( including live crash onstage) with Ozonic and wasted lots of time being put on wrong track. the whole problem was the fancy new power supply with automatic 120/220 switch.
Crazy, I did everything , new XP installs, 3 fancy FW cables, etc, etc and then discovered accidently, pluging in Nokia`s charger., the real cause. That unfortunate PSU is oversensitive, stage lights changes, any static impulses etc deactivate audio
Once m audio sent me a bit heavier PSU, I didnt have any problems. German M audio forwarded my "great" discovery, to HQ, so they will redesigne that part but anyway I am OK with Ozonic, that with Faderfox is my main Live controller..

icedsushi
Posts: 1652
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 8:36 pm

Post by icedsushi » Sun Jan 01, 2006 4:28 pm

NEVER had a problem with Motu 828mkII driver. Extremely solid and reliable. So far, never had to troubleshoot it or had it lose connection randomly. I never have to think about or reconfigure it's connections to OSX. Had the original 828 years ago and just added a Traveler which works flawlessly too. Motu interfaces CPU usage is almost insignificant too.

Have no experience with M-Audio audio interfaces (or any other brand interface for that matter), just M-Audio's midi controllers.

I've heard alot of weird stuff about FW class compliant interfaces Firebox. M-Audio, etc on the forums. Like high CPU usage or unreliability here & there. Now here's another thread that just popped up, add to the rest. Whether apple's fault or the companys', according to people's comments online, seems non-class compliant FW interfaces have the advantage now by a long shot.

I avoided the class compliant stuff with my last purchase of the Traveler. I've heard to much bad stuff on the forums at this time.

Montonn
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed May 14, 2003 7:15 pm
Location: Thailand
Contact:

Post by Montonn » Sun Jan 01, 2006 5:21 pm

I run an RME Fireface and a Multiface, and I've never had soundcard problems. I've owned other interfaces by m-audio, digidesign, emagic, echo, and Motu. Often it seems you get what you pay for.
So, for all the "I'm looking for a soundcard" folk out there. I'd recommend saving up and getting the best soundcard your money can buy.

:D

info_warfare
Posts: 79
Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2005 4:30 pm
Location: Cyberspace, Switzerland

Post by info_warfare » Mon Jan 02, 2006 2:52 am

Funny how Hambone1 spends so much time bitching about M-Audio... are you sure you don't work for a competitor?

8O

mosca
Posts: 1110
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2003 2:16 pm

Post by mosca » Mon Jan 02, 2006 12:52 pm

never had a problem with m-audio

ever

mo

genshi
Posts: 289
Joined: Fri Dec 06, 2002 10:11 pm
Location: Pasadena, CA - Portland, OR
Contact:

Post by genshi » Mon Jan 02, 2006 6:45 pm

Yeah, I may have been lucky or something, but I've never had any problems with M-Audio interfaces either. I've been using a FireWire 410 since it came out (as well as a FireWire Solo) on my measly 667Mhz Powerbook, originally running 10.2.x, then 10.3.7 and 10.3.9 and now 10.4.3 and no issues what-so-ever. I now have a new iMac G5 with 10.4.3 and am using their ProjectMix I/O and am loving it!

Incidentally, I tried the ProjectMix on my 667Mhz Powerbook which is technically under spec for the ProjectMix, but it STILL ran without issue; which is odd though because it basically has a FireWire 1814 inside of it and the 1814 is the ONLY FireWire interface from M-Audio that does NOT work with my Powerbook (again, because it is under the minimum requirements.) Go figure...

hambone1
Posts: 5346
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2005 8:31 pm
Location: Abu Dhabi

Post by hambone1 » Tue Jan 03, 2006 5:27 pm

lerky wrote:how is the O1V hambone?
I've got an old Promix01 which is ok for a beginner, but I kind of like the layout of thier mixers.
How much is the mLAN card?
The 01V works great as an 8-in/8-out audio interface, mixing desk, and moving-fader MIDI controller. Unfortunately, it doesn't do MIDI down mLAN (need the newer 01V/96 for that), but it works fine with a traditional MIDI interface. Stick the same mLAN card in an 01V/96, and you've got sixteen 24-bit 96kHz ins and outs, MIDI, and tons of MIDI controls down one Firewire cable!

The mLAN card was about £280, which is what I got for the Ozonic I dumped.

henry ford
Posts: 690
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2005 4:30 am

Post by henry ford » Tue Jan 03, 2006 5:46 pm

whats the quality of the AD DA's like ?

seems like it would be a great card for performing with.....but can it compete with an apogee mini dac in terms of quality ?

Post Reply