Who's running Live 5 without problems - post here

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
siddhu
Posts: 568
Joined: Sun Jun 29, 2003 10:39 am
Location: surface of the earth
Contact:

Who's running Live 5 without problems - post here

Post by siddhu » Fri Jan 20, 2006 5:23 pm

After reading all the threads bitching about Live 5's bugginess, problems etc., I thought about starting a thread where those of use NOT having problems could post our set ups as a possible comparison.

So, I'm running Live 5.01 on a dual G5 1.8, OS X 10.3.9, with 1.5 gigs of RAM and 7200 RPM drives internal and external.

The 3d party VSTi's I'm using are NI's Kontakt, Absynth, FM7, Elemental Audio's Multimeter, and the Sonalksis stuff.

Live runs super stable on my system and the rare crash that I have happens only when I'm loading a huge Kontakt instrument. And even this does not always happen.

I can say that I have NEVER had any crashing or locking up of Live other than sometimes when I have a huge complex monster of a Kontakt thingy going on!

Live has been infinitely more stable than Logic 7.1!
Last edited by siddhu on Fri Jan 20, 2006 5:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.

network.funky
Posts: 132
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 9:11 pm
Location: London, England
Contact:

Post by network.funky » Fri Jan 20, 2006 5:36 pm

I'm running Live 5.0.3 on 3.2Ghz hyperthreading PC. 2GB RAM. Windows XP Home SP1

I am using an EMU 1212 as my interface.

Big user of Stylus RMX, always have a few instances of Linplug Cronox3, along with other VSTs. Pro53; Mellotron; B4 being the more common ones.

I use a lot of the Live effects and the DSP ones that run on the EMU.

I also use a lot of audio although at present only record 1 channel or stereo pair at at time.

I've been doing a lot of warping lately too.

Having used Live since version 5 came out the only issue I had was some odd midi latency issues in 5.0.1. Aside from that its never crashed, hung, corrupted a track, or stolen my beer.

All else has been good and coming from years of Cubase VST use I find Live a huge breath of fresh air and highly inspirational.
---------------------------------------------------------------------

Windows XP 5.1.2600 Service Pack 1 : 3.2Ghz Intel Processor : 2GB RAM
Emu1820m : EZ Bus : Yamaha SY35 : most of Linplug's offerings : Stylus RMX
Amiga A500 : AMAS : TurboSound

shtreimel
Posts: 476
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2004 12:45 am

Post by shtreimel » Fri Jan 20, 2006 5:43 pm

Composed an entire doc score using Live and an HP notebook. And while I wish my laptop was more powerful, Live performed perfectly. And now that I can sync video to the timeline....bliss.

NO
PROBLEMS
HERE

*********
HP Pavilion, GIG RAM, Novation x-station, Roland GT-8, Absynth
Last edited by shtreimel on Fri Jan 20, 2006 5:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Moody
Posts: 2115
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2004 7:47 pm

Post by Moody » Fri Jan 20, 2006 5:44 pm

No problems here.
Ableton’s engineers are hard
at work developing code that will allow our software to predict the future, but we don’t
anticipate having this available until at least the next major release.

djadonis206
Posts: 6488
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2004 4:23 pm
Location: Seattle, WA.

Post by djadonis206 » Fri Jan 20, 2006 5:46 pm

Can't complain

Since I got the PC no problems - hasn't crashed or locked up - not once (on the Mac Mini I had issues)

using a AMD Athlon64 3200 1.5 gigs ram Mbox (1) - none

Live 5.03

I honestly can't complain - the only issue I have is the newly recorded loops starting (NOT) on the one from time to time but that's an easy fix


Trust me - the other 2 top apps out there (Cubase and PT7) have a lot more wrong with them than this bad boy right here - trust me

I kind of like like Live :)


Adonis
Ableton | Elektron

Music

maze23a
Posts: 481
Joined: Sun Aug 15, 2004 4:29 pm
Location: bremen
Contact:

No problem

Post by maze23a » Fri Jan 20, 2006 5:49 pm

I got a p4 3 Ghz Win XP
for production and no problem.

My girlfriend has an Ibook G4 1.42
and i used it for Deejay once.
No problem!

sqook
Posts: 2430
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 8:14 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Post by sqook » Fri Jan 20, 2006 5:52 pm

I run loads of 3rd party stuff with live, and never had any problems to speak of. I acknowledge that live5 runs a bit slower than 4, particularly when it comes to the GUI, but I'm willing to accept that sacrifice given how much more stuff live5 lets me do.

rasputin
Posts: 645
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2003 10:16 pm
Location: San Diego, California, USA
Contact:

This thread will probably get pretty long

Post by rasputin » Fri Jan 20, 2006 5:53 pm

2.0GHz P4 running Win 2000 (Server, if you can believe that) SP4. When I'm running it I have the network interface disabled, all unnecessary services (DHCP, DNS, Print Spooler, etc.) are turned off.
I run Live 5 about 10 hours a week, I suppose. Don't use any remarkable plug in synths or FX. (Some kjaerhaus FX and Ambience reverb). It's about 99% solid (I think 4.1 was more solid but there you're talking 99.5% instead on 99%.) I haven't lost any work but I still back up my sets (by creating a copy) every couple of hours that I work on them.
I use Live strictly as a composing/arranging tool and don't use it live.

gomi
Posts: 1132
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2005 8:29 pm
Location: earth

Post by gomi » Fri Jan 20, 2006 6:17 pm

I am running 5.03 on an Apple G4 1.5ghz Powerbook with 1GB ram stock
HD, edirol fa-66 and an ediroal pcr-30.

no problems that i don't cause all by myself (user error doesn't count
i assume)

i get the sluggish gui sometimes, but the audio keeps working
and i know the limitations of my machine so i am not trying to
make it do jobs that i know will not work.

kongbalong
Posts: 52
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2004 4:39 pm
Contact:

Post by kongbalong » Fri Jan 20, 2006 6:24 pm

Live works great for me on a 3.2ghz p4 with 2GB ram and a MOTU traveler. I mostly just use the NI Komplete 3 stuff, and Spektral Delay has some serious problems in Live, but that's no big deal.

it does seem like the mouse is somehow less accurate in 5.03 than in earlier versions. am i crazy?

-craig

Dr. Zoiberg
Posts: 441
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2005 2:05 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Post by Dr. Zoiberg » Fri Jan 20, 2006 6:25 pm

Live 5.0.3 on a dual G5 2.3ghz (single core)
mac os 10.4.4
Mackie control universal
motu 896
lots of plug-ins

works fine here

ILTK
Posts: 800
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2005 6:41 pm
Location: Denmark, land of the awesome

Post by ILTK » Fri Jan 20, 2006 6:31 pm

Runs fine here to, AMD64 3.8 Ghz Win XP 1gig ram, tons of vst instruments and effects, only problems has been with misbehaving vsts and a rare fluke lockup, this box runs internet, games, downloads in the background whatever.., no problems, cubase however has crashed a billion times in the same period just because I looked at it wrong :evil:

hambone1
Posts: 5346
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2005 8:31 pm
Location: Abu Dhabi

Post by hambone1 » Fri Jan 20, 2006 6:51 pm

I've implemented a few workarounds, but it's rock-solid and hasn't crashed once since dumping the M-Audio interface three months ago, using it 6-8 hours a day. (Wish I could say the same for Arkaos VJ...)

I do look forward to GUI speed improvments, though.

Nokatus
Posts: 1064
Joined: Fri Jul 01, 2005 7:06 am

Post by Nokatus » Fri Jan 20, 2006 7:01 pm

Other than the sluggishness which kicks in at some point when dragging material in the arrange view (see here), Live 5.0.3 runs very appropriately on the system listed in my beta info below. No audio glitches, no crashes, no erratic behavior.

leisuremuffin
Posts: 4721
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2004 12:45 am
Location: New Jersey
Contact:

Post by leisuremuffin » Fri Jan 20, 2006 7:32 pm

no problems here.

my system is listed below, but also:

motu 838mkII
µtonic
lot's of free plugs.



CPU usage is more in 5 than 4, but that is to be expected.


.lm.
TimeableFloat ???S?e?n?d?I?n?f?o

Post Reply