newbie: Trigger Finger setup in Live 5

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
iomega
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2006 6:24 pm

newbie: Trigger Finger setup in Live 5

Post by iomega » Fri Jan 20, 2006 6:54 pm

I just bought the m-audio trigger finger.
I installed the the drivers and enigma and ableton live 5 software.
I loaded the preset ableton live impulse x2 kit into the trigger finger.
Now do I have to leave that program open in order to hear it in Live?

The next part is when I open Live in the MIDI/sync preference

Under
[Active Devices]
I have [input] (USB Trigger Finger in)
Track [on] Sync [off] remote [on]

Under
[Output] Track Sync Remote
Creative Soundfont Synth off off off
USB Trigger Finger Out off off off
Microsoft GS Wavetable SW Synth off off off

in the Audio section under preferences
Driver Type [mme/DirectX]
Input Audio Device [Soundblaster Live! 24-bit DX]
Input Buffer Size
Input Latency 186ms 8208 Samples
Output Audio Device [Soundblaster Live! 24-bit DX]
Ouput Buffer Size
Output Latency 58.8ms 2592 Samples

everything else is I left alone...
so when I get out of preferences

where do I go now to hear something when I press the pad?
what else do I need to setup?
did I do it properly?

netchaiev
Posts: 428
Joined: Mon Mar 08, 2004 10:26 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Post by netchaiev » Fri Jan 20, 2006 7:20 pm

Dude, like any track, enable recording of a track or 2 (for the preset x2)...
Of course, put two impulse in tracks. In ins/out of track you'll have "channel10' and "11'
that's it pretty easy.
MBP 2011/i7/10.8/Live 8 Suite/M4L+Launchpad+TF+KorgNano.
http://soundcloud.com/netchaiev
http://www.vimeo.com/user408737

iomega
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2006 6:24 pm

Post by iomega » Fri Jan 20, 2006 7:57 pm

still nothing.. like when I press the pad theres a signal going off on channel 10 but I'm just not hearing it

ILTK
Posts: 800
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2005 6:41 pm
Location: Denmark, land of the awesome

Post by ILTK » Fri Jan 20, 2006 10:11 pm

Try this just to make sure you got any connection going at all:

Find a sample (anything will do) in the live browser, drag it into an audio track.

Hit midi learn up top, select the clip, hit a pad on the TF.

Turn of midi learn and hit the pad, if it triggers, then you got a connection going.

Now doubleclick any of the Impulse sets that came with Live so you get a new track, verify that the sounds are playing by hitting the little arrows in each slot on the Impulse, if that works, turn on record button so it goes red on the impulse track.

Drag a pitch control into the impulse track, mash all the pads while tuning up and down until you hear something going on.

EDIT: also make sure you have 'usb trigger finger in' in the 'MIDI from' dropdown on the MIDI tracks, if not then it's not setup properly in the preferences.

iomega
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2006 6:24 pm

Post by iomega » Sat Jan 21, 2006 12:25 am

thnx!! :)
alright I got it to trigger off the sample

It works with the midi simpler insturments..
but not the impulse ones

netchaiev
Posts: 428
Joined: Mon Mar 08, 2004 10:26 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Post by netchaiev » Sat Jan 21, 2006 9:37 am

:cry:
weird. Does the Impulses respond? can you play them w/ keyboard?
have selected the right preset bank on the trigger? (pad 11 or 10)?
Have record enable ur tracks?
MBP 2011/i7/10.8/Live 8 Suite/M4L+Launchpad+TF+KorgNano.
http://soundcloud.com/netchaiev
http://www.vimeo.com/user408737

feyshay
Posts: 625
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2005 9:10 pm
Location: Annapolis, MD

Post by feyshay » Sat Jan 21, 2006 3:03 pm

For the person above using the Soundblaster soundcard, download a decent driver so you don't have much latency. Download ASIO4All and use it as your driver. You can't possibly deal with 150ms of latency.
If you are getting your keyboard to play Impulse, you should be able to do that with Trigger Finger. Press memory recall and then pad 10 or 11. You should get it working.

ILTK
Posts: 800
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2005 6:41 pm
Location: Denmark, land of the awesome

Post by ILTK » Sat Jan 21, 2006 3:46 pm

feyshay wrote:You can't possibly deal with 150ms of latency.
Damn I missed that, that's just crazy, get asio4all installed STAT like feyshay says, it's very good one of my systems is just running a standard crappola builtin ac97 card, and I can get it down to 5ms with no crackling at all with asio4all.

feyshay
Posts: 625
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2005 9:10 pm
Location: Annapolis, MD

Post by feyshay » Sat Jan 21, 2006 4:16 pm

Try turning remote off on the Trigger Finger and just use it for tracking if you're only going to be using it to trigger drum impulses or as in instrument. See if that fixes your problem.

iomega
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2006 6:24 pm

Post by iomega » Sat Jan 21, 2006 8:01 pm

iight

I did get the ASIO4All drivers and installed it.
I got the latency down to 96ms
========
When I switched to the computer keyboard it actually tiggered off the impulse drums.
========
I pressed memory recall and tapped pad 10.. and its working nice.. still

thnx.... again.. for the help.. :)

mylkoa
Posts: 408
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2006 10:43 pm
Location: Baltimore, MD
Contact:

Post by mylkoa » Sun Feb 19, 2006 5:55 pm

Changing a pad's CC from 147 (On/Off) to 148
(Toggle) is interesting. I have had my trigger
finger for 4 months before I found out how to really
program it in Enigma :?

However, I wasn't using it as much as when I was
working with Logic.

I'm finally starting to really use it with Live! :)

Post Reply