the oft-neglected arrange page...

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
homerjsim
Posts: 151
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2002 12:53 pm
Location: NYC

the oft-neglected arrange page...

Post by homerjsim » Sun Feb 19, 2006 5:06 pm

I know Live's primarily about the seesion page, but how about a few features for the arrange page?

1. BYPASSING GRID
Alt-dragging bypasses the grid when editing within a midi clip, but why not up at the at the clip level (editing start/end/placement) on the arrange page too ? (this would go for midi *and* audio clips). I know I could always turn off the grid with crtl-4, but a) then I can't see where I am 9 tracks down on the arrange page because the lines go away, and b) it's clunky to have to turn it on/off.

Alt-dragging should bypass the grid *everywhere*, including the sample editor window of an audio clip. Turning the grid off via Crtl-4 doesn't even work in there as a workaround - it seems tied to the arrange grid - imho, the sample grid should be conceptually finer-grained and independant of the arrange grid, just like the envelope grid is...

2. NON-DESTRUCTIVE AUDIO CLIP CROSSFADES
bitte

3. QUICKTIME
bitte


having said that, ain't Live grand?

mr-e
Posts: 344
Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2004 7:43 am

Post by mr-e » Sun Feb 19, 2006 5:16 pm

2. NON-DESTRUCTIVE AUDIO CLIP CROSSFADES
bitte
oh yes plz !!!

btw , I almost never use session view.

homerjsim
Posts: 151
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2002 12:53 pm
Location: NYC

and another thing...

Post by homerjsim » Sun Feb 19, 2006 5:45 pm

(now that I've gotten started...:) If I'm in arrange and I already have a clip in the sample editor window I've been working on, and then I click somewhere in blank space up on the arrange page just as a way to set a new playback start point, I don't want my clip to disappear from the editor window!!! (i.e. "No clip selected")

It's kind of obvious, but the editor window should only update to where I click on Arrange if I.... ***click on another clip*** !!

atmofunk
Posts: 169
Joined: Sun Nov 14, 2004 11:15 pm
Contact:

Post by atmofunk » Sun Feb 19, 2006 6:09 pm

agreed~!

I'm primarily all about he arrange mode myself so yeah i'm with ya -- except quicktime.. dunno why i could possibly want that.
http://mixlogistics.com | http://www.myspace.com/mixlogistics | Live 6.0.3 | Oxygen8v2 | Trigger Finger

mr-e
Posts: 344
Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2004 7:43 am

Post by mr-e » Sun Feb 19, 2006 6:20 pm

It's kind of obvious, but the editor window should only update to where I click on Arrange if I.... ***click on another clip*** !!
once again , totally agree , keep posting !

Michael-SW
Posts: 2054
Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2005 4:05 pm
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Post by Michael-SW » Sun Feb 19, 2006 7:46 pm

While talking about crossfades, why not ask for a fade in/out too! Select in the track, choose eg fade in, and the clip volume envelope automatically is set from zero to max over the selection.

homerjsim
Posts: 151
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2002 12:53 pm
Location: NYC

Post by homerjsim » Sun Feb 19, 2006 7:56 pm

yep.

but just as important and far easier for the developers to implement would be for them to fix the grid behaviours (see above)

Machinate
Posts: 11646
Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2004 2:15 pm
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Post by Machinate » Sun Feb 19, 2006 8:47 pm

mr-e wrote:
It's kind of obvious, but the editor window should only update to where I click on Arrange if I.... ***click on another clip*** !!
once again , totally agree , keep posting !
yes, and keep posting in the feature wishlist section! ;)
mbp 2.66, osx 10.6.8, 8GB ram.

Jan Holm
Posts: 282
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 10:32 am
Location: Aalborg, Denmark
Contact:

Post by Jan Holm » Sun Feb 19, 2006 9:42 pm

Another vote for

- Grid bypassing
- Non destuctive fade in fade out

sweetjesus
Posts: 8803
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2004 3:12 pm
Location: www.fridge.net.au
Contact:

Post by sweetjesus » Sun Feb 19, 2006 10:03 pm

Michael-SW wrote:While talking about crossfades, why not ask for a fade in/out too! Select in the track, choose eg fade in, and the clip volume envelope automatically is set from zero to max over the selection.
yes please to the berlin gods

jesQuick
Posts: 444
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2005 10:36 am
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Contact:

Post by jesQuick » Wed Feb 22, 2006 1:24 pm

atmofunk wrote:agreed~!

I'm primarily all about he arrange mode myself so yeah i'm with ya -- except quicktime.. dunno why i could possibly want that.
What? Would be sweet to do sound-design directly in Live...! Awsome...Quicktime and TC sync... Thats high on my wishlist!

OT - I know

Carry on...

glu
Posts: 2769
Joined: Thu May 19, 2005 12:27 am

Post by glu » Wed Feb 22, 2006 4:48 pm

you mean you can't set an easy fade like in Pro Tools or Soundforge? I thought I was just missing something in the manual, damn........
no prevailing genre of music:
http://alonetone.com/glu

spiderprod
Posts: 1120
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2004 10:11 pm

Re: the oft-neglected arrange page...

Post by spiderprod » Wed Feb 22, 2006 5:11 pm

homerjsim wrote:
2. NON-DESTRUCTIVE AUDIO CLIP CROSSFADES
bitte
is drawing volume envelope not enough ?

ILTK
Posts: 800
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2005 6:41 pm
Location: Denmark, land of the awesome

Post by ILTK » Wed Feb 22, 2006 5:43 pm

Something like this would be awesome:

(Horrible ascii clip drawing, sorry)

--------------------------------------
|> = Handle ====== Handle = <|
--------------------------------------

Then to do a fadeout/in just grab the handle and drag without even going to clip properties or messing with draving envelopes, content click on handles to select mode (Liniar, log, sinus, cosinus etc..)

Perhaps drag up/down (Like when zooming) to adjust the slope of whatever slope mode you have selected.

Same for objects in the arrange view, overlap two clips, click on either one to 'bring to front' and then grab the handles and drag to set the fade or just select so a portion of each clip is marked, then select crossfade, and then you could do fine adjustments with the object handles.

djadonis206
Posts: 6490
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2004 4:23 pm
Location: Seattle, WA.

Post by djadonis206 » Wed Feb 22, 2006 6:23 pm

I use both - alot of people do

session is tight but arrange is chill -

how about them apples

oh yeah, def a feature wishlist, crossfades and the such

good luck
Ableton | Elektron

Music

Post Reply