setting up latency compensation with a firewire 410

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
fishbox
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 4:18 am
Location: @riversedge, in the timber

setting up latency compensation with a firewire 410

Post by fishbox » Sun Feb 26, 2006 8:42 pm

I followed the tutorial but I don't get the short circuit part. An audio cable from where to where? I'm assuming that this happens on my 410. Any advice?

alan*
Posts: 260
Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2005 11:55 pm
Location: Perth, Australia
Contact:

Post by alan* » Mon Feb 27, 2006 1:17 am

Yes, it has to be an actual hardware connection, run leads from your 410's main outputs back into its main inputs and then select those outputs/inputs in live's pref's. Follow the tutorial, it's really worth doing this, for one just to see what your cards latency performance is and also to make sure your recordings end up in time with the rest of your project.
2.16ghz mbp 3gb, motu ultralite

http://myspace.com/indijika

fishbox
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 4:18 am
Location: @riversedge, in the timber

Post by fishbox » Tue Feb 28, 2006 1:30 am

thanks for the help. These extra 17 milliseconds were making me very queasy,
cheers fishbox
G5 ,Live 5,firewire 410, Tannoy reveals, Behringer UB1204 Larrivee, Guild, Godin, Dragonfly, Dr Frankenstein's bass, Traynor YCV 20 and the mighty Thorcraft Cobra

jsenkbeil
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 3:00 pm

Post by jsenkbeil » Tue Feb 28, 2006 3:52 am

I did a search for this tutorial on the forums, but came up with nothing. Can you post a link to this, I am very interested to see the latency on my Firewire 410.

Thanks

alan*
Posts: 260
Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2005 11:55 pm
Location: Perth, Australia
Contact:

Post by alan* » Tue Feb 28, 2006 5:50 am

Within Live go to the help menu at the top of your screen, select 'lessons table of contents', look down to where it says harware setup, click on 'setting up latency compensation'
2.16ghz mbp 3gb, motu ultralite

http://myspace.com/indijika

roby
Posts: 931
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 4:16 pm
Location: CA, USA
Contact:

Post by roby » Tue Feb 28, 2006 7:21 am

Just curious...what other applications have to be tested for latency the same way or similar to Live?

alan*
Posts: 260
Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2005 11:55 pm
Location: Perth, Australia
Contact:

Post by alan* » Tue Feb 28, 2006 7:21 am

fishbox wrote:thanks for the help. These extra 17 milliseconds were making me very queasy,
cheers fishbox
Fishbox, if latency becomes a problem for you (17ms is quite high) you may want to look for another interface, m-audio do not have a fantastic rep. for low latency with their mac drivers. I had a firewire 410 at one point also although with my powerbook, not a G5.
2.16ghz mbp 3gb, motu ultralite

http://myspace.com/indijika

jsenkbeil
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 3:00 pm

Post by jsenkbeil » Tue Feb 28, 2006 4:08 pm

alan* wrote:Within Live go to the help menu at the top of your screen, select 'lessons table of contents', look down to where it says harware setup, click on 'setting up latency compensation'
Got it. I didn't even think to look there. Thanks again.

Post Reply