HELP! windows burned CD will not load on my Mac! Achtung!

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
chagos
Posts: 217
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2005 10:21 pm
Location: Washington State
Contact:

HELP! windows burned CD will not load on my Mac! Achtung!

Post by chagos » Sat Mar 04, 2006 12:29 am

I recently recorded a few Live sessions at a friends house and we bounced them to a cd using his PC.
Now when i try to load it onto my mac i get nothing. the mac will not acknowledge the cd.
it either stalls out or it just doesnt show up anywhere.

any ideas?
I've tried it in two different drives and neither will read it.

OS X.3.9, G5 :?: :evil:

chagos
Posts: 217
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2005 10:21 pm
Location: Washington State
Contact:

Post by chagos » Sat Mar 04, 2006 4:29 am

man, this thing still will not go!
aaaarrrrgghhh!
:evil: :x

/.
Posts: 185
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2006 9:34 pm
Contact:

Post by /. » Sat Mar 04, 2006 4:47 am

SMASH IT THEN. well actually you dont have to... i once burned a sample cd and ma fkin cd'rom just said that theres no cd in it wen there was... man. wooh. try on anothr comp . .<?

studio615
Posts: 103
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2005 2:17 am
Location: Carlisle PA
Contact:

Post by studio615 » Sat Mar 04, 2006 6:07 pm

That is usually not the case, are you sure that the disc is a good burn? Mac's will read all pc made cd's, the function is built in, PC's can't read mac cd's unless you make a special disc in toast for both pc/mac. Double check the cd on a pc, if it works try to use a good name brand disc, it could be that the cd is cheap. I have rarely seen the problem in this way before.

Nav
Posts: 422
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by Nav » Sat Mar 04, 2006 6:52 pm

If the disc isnt finalised (i.e you can add more to it later which xp burn does) this might cause a problem.

Might be better burning on pc with something like nero and finalising it, get a trial from there website.

chagos
Posts: 217
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2005 10:21 pm
Location: Washington State
Contact:

Post by chagos » Sat Mar 04, 2006 10:45 pm

it comes up as a CD_ROM XA in disk utility.

can't get it to burn, or copy or load though. It just teases me.

suspended childhood
Posts: 373
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2006 7:21 pm
Contact:

Post by suspended childhood » Sun Mar 05, 2006 8:27 am

i agree, sounds like it wasnt finalized:

reburn it from the pc but select "disk at once" this leaves the laser on the whole way through, including the table of contents, the data, and the finalization....the cd will be good after that.
John Deere 9860STS Hydraflex , 15" MBP 2.5 C2D 4 gigs RAM, 15" MBP 2.33 Dual Core 3 gigs ram, ultralite x2, MPD 32, Kontrol49, v4, CG-8, live 7, reason 4, Trilogy, MiniMonsta, Oddity, M8. http://www.myspace.com/robclay

thx1138
Posts: 676
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 9:03 am

Post by thx1138 » Sun Mar 05, 2006 9:16 am

chagos wrote:it comes up as a CD_ROM XA in disk utility.
Make a disc image of it in Disc Utility and bobs your unkle :wink:
Macbook Pro C2D2.5 17"/4G/OSX.5.6/Live8.12/Brain/Bla bla bla bla

donnydonny
Posts: 305
Joined: Sat Jul 23, 2005 9:36 am
Location: San Francisco, USA
Contact:

Post by donnydonny » Mon Mar 06, 2006 2:17 am

probably just a bad cd. burn a new one. i'm sure you have at least 50 extra cd's within 5 ft. of you
Macbook Pro 2.16GHz, 3GB, OS X 10.6.2, Live 7.0.18 (Triceratopz), Torq 1.5.2, M-Audio Xponent, Access Virus TI Polar, Trigger Finger

chagos
Posts: 217
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2005 10:21 pm
Location: Washington State
Contact:

Post by chagos » Mon Mar 06, 2006 6:04 pm

50 extrz cds yes, but the sets themselves are 1400 miles away on a different computer. On my Dad's computer, and my dad(bless his heart) is just not computer literate enough to hook me up.
Oh well, just have to wait a bit for them.

d-plate
Posts: 80
Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 2:14 am

Post by d-plate » Mon Mar 06, 2006 7:50 pm

chagos wrote:50 extrz cds yes, but the sets themselves are 1400 miles away on a different computer. On my Dad's computer, and my dad(bless his heart) is just not computer literate enough to hook me up.
Oh well, just have to wait a bit for them.
There might be a solution.

Find a PC that has the recording software Nero (you can use another one if u're familiar with it). Open it Nero Burning ROM, go to Recorder -> Disc Info, and there should be an option to "finalize session". I've saved a couple of CDs like this. :)

Post Reply