Next Live 5.2 beta is online! Live 5.2b6!

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Alex
Posts: 4006
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2002 1:07 pm
Location: Ableton Headquarter

Next Live 5.2 beta is online! Live 5.2b6!

Post by Alex » Fri Mar 10, 2006 7:28 pm

Hi folks,

we just uploaded another beta version of the upcoming Live update/upgrade 5.2.
This beta is free for every user.

On Windows and OS X (Power-PC) you can unlock this beta with your
Live 5 serial number.

On OS X (Intel) or if you do not own Live 5 you can unlock this beta version
using the beta serial number provided on the beta website.

Check the beta website to download the version: www.ableton.com/beta

Please send all beta related feedback to beta@ableton.com.


Current version: Live 5.2b6
Expire date: 2006-03-20

This beta versions has these limitations:
- No manual is included
- No content is included
- No japanese language support is included


This version has enabled our bug reporter.
You will notice it when restarting Live after experiencing a crash.

Furthermore the Windows version has additional debug code to dump
information into the log file. Therefore the Windows version is a bit
slower as the final version (something between 5% to 15%).

When starting live 5.2b6 for the first time it should open with the Beta
lesson which also contains the change log.


Kind Regards,
Alex



Change log Live Live 5.2b5 - 5.2b6

-----------------------------------------------------------------
Improvements
-----------------------------------------------------------------

Mac OS X : Improved handling of Audio Units parameter lists. This should fix the problem with Audio Units not showing parameters (like MicroTonic).



-----------------------------------------------------------------
[01] Bug: Relocate Sample
-----------------------------------------------------------------
Platform: All

Opening a Live which references an mp3 file and its appropriate .asd file. Moving this mp3 file .asd file to another location via the Explorer (Win) or Finder (Mac) would let appear the sample locate dialog in Live. After selecting the new location of the mp3 file Live would crash.

Status: Fixed

-----------------------------------------------------------------
[02] Bug: Mackie Control Display
-----------------------------------------------------------------
Platform: All

The Mackie Controls display was sometimes not correctly updated, when moving or editing devices in Live, while editing them on the Mackie Control.

Status: Fixed

-----------------------------------------------------------------
[03] Bug: 'Complex' warp mode
-----------------------------------------------------------------
Platform: All

Playing an audio clip in 'Complex' warp mode at 192kHz would result in a crash.

Status: Fixed

-----------------------------------------------------------------
[04] Bug: Prehear MIDI file
-----------------------------------------------------------------
Platform: All

Under certain circumstances preharing a corrupt standard MIDI file within the Live browser could result in a crash.

Status: Fixed

-----------------------------------------------------------------
[05] Bug: Select audio device
-----------------------------------------------------------------
Platform: Mac OS X

When an audio input device is selected which is a logical different device as the current output (this is for instance always the case for the built-in audio on the IntelMacs) Live could crash when another audio device or another sample rate would be selected.

Status: Fixed

-----------------------------------------------------------------
[06] Bug: Audio Units
-----------------------------------------------------------------
Platform: Mac OS X (i386 only)

Adding an Audio Unit plug-in Live 5.2b5 would result in a crash.

Status: Fixed

-----------------------------------------------------------------
[07] Bug: MIDI learn AU parameter
-----------------------------------------------------------------
Platform: Mac OS X

The Min and Max value of a "MIDI learned" Audio Unit parameter would not be restored after Undo & Redo or after loading a Live set.

Status: Fixed




Announcement of Live 5.2b5
http://www.ableton.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=34978

Announcement of Live 5.2b4
http://www.ableton.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=34572

Announcement of Live 5.2b3
http://www.ableton.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=34440
Last edited by Alex on Mon Mar 20, 2006 5:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.

djsynchro
Posts: 7471
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 9:06 pm
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
Contact:

Post by djsynchro » Mon Mar 13, 2006 5:31 pm

I just remembered bugs I've had with all versions of Live5, using a BCF2000 in Cubase/Mackie emulation & BCFView to emulate the Mackie display. (Which overall works great)

Gate plugin: No "flip" parameter shown on BCFView..

Auto Pan: Some parameters are in the wrong place on first page, on second page it's all messed up (everyhting's blank, one parameter is shown in wrong place).

Resonator: Turning an encoder gives fine values in between note steps whereas turning knobs with mouse steps through values quantised to semitones.

Cheers.

Digi V
Posts: 580
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 4:18 am

Post by Digi V » Tue Mar 14, 2006 1:35 am

how much longer until a retail version of live?



how long in the process are we ?

Goran@Irrupt
Posts: 565
Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2003 11:18 pm
Location: Belgrade
Contact:

Post by Goran@Irrupt » Tue Mar 14, 2006 9:14 am

Digi V wrote:how long in the process are we ?
a way too long if you ask me.

w :!:
http://www.irrupt.com ? Irrupt Studios / A&R

hoffman2k
Posts: 14717
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 6:40 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Post by hoffman2k » Tue Mar 14, 2006 9:22 am

WebSite! wrote:
Digi V wrote:how long in the process are we ?
a way too long if you ask me.

w :!:
Untill all reproducible bugs have been fixed...

HD1
Posts: 667
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2006 6:38 pm

Post by HD1 » Tue Mar 14, 2006 3:53 pm

take your time ableton...no one minds beta testing for something they havent paid for.

Goran@Irrupt
Posts: 565
Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2003 11:18 pm
Location: Belgrade
Contact:

Re: Next Live 5.2 beta is online! Live 5.2b6!

Post by Goran@Irrupt » Tue Mar 14, 2006 8:37 pm

Ableton newsletter wrote:Ableton is excited to present Live 5.2 at Musikmesse in Frankfurt, Germany, March 29-April 01, 2006.
so... april then.
and again - a way too late. :roll:

w :!:
http://www.irrupt.com ? Irrupt Studios / A&R

louZ
Posts: 461
Joined: Mon Oct 11, 2004 6:35 pm
Location: Holland

Post by louZ » Tue Mar 14, 2006 11:53 pm

Quit whining. When Ableton releases stuff to early (i.e. Live 5) people are whining about the bugs. Now people are whining about it being released to late.

Take your time Abletons!

HD1
Posts: 667
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2006 6:38 pm

Post by HD1 » Wed Mar 15, 2006 12:09 am

hey website, arent you using the beta ? you dont have to wait until april to use it.

Jor
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2006 9:06 am

Microtonic

Post by Jor » Wed Mar 15, 2006 9:18 am

Still testing 5.2b6. In the headline's of this topic, in the list improvements:
Mac OS X : Improved handling of Audio Units parameter lists. This should fix the problem with Audio Units not showing parameters (like MicroTonic).
I'm still trying to find microtonic in the AU plugin list in live 5.2b6. It looks like live can't find or read the plugin....

Jor

Hedroom
Posts: 749
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2005 12:23 pm

Post by Hedroom » Wed Mar 15, 2006 10:28 am

Not really a bug cos I think it's my fault for having such a big set but my set takes 8 minutes to load! Hope it doesn't crash on stage, would be a long wait to reboot....

beardedone
Posts: 150
Joined: Thu Sep 25, 2003 2:19 pm
Location: Montreal
Contact:

Post by beardedone » Wed Mar 15, 2006 2:34 pm

Will the upgrade to the retail version of Live 5.2 be free for Live 5 licensees?

I am hoping that 5.2 will be soon as 5.03 is now completely unstable for me.

Best regards,
Gordon

HD1
Posts: 667
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2006 6:38 pm

Post by HD1 » Wed Mar 15, 2006 3:48 pm

dont you read any of the newsletters or news bulletins on the website ?

5.2 will be free for all but mactel users, who will have to pay 49 euro.

beardedone
Posts: 150
Joined: Thu Sep 25, 2003 2:19 pm
Location: Montreal
Contact:

Post by beardedone » Wed Mar 15, 2006 3:50 pm

Thanks RP. I got the newsletter but forgot what it said. I'll try and find the bulletins.

djkepi
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Mar 21, 2006 2:44 am

beta with logic pro intel

Post by djkepi » Tue Mar 21, 2006 2:46 am

Has anybody tried to rewire Ableton to Logic Pro 7.2 (the intel version)?

if so let me know how you did it. Can seem to wire it up with the beta.

Other than that, this beta on intel has been stable.

jeff

Post Reply