recording guitar, bass, vocals into Ableton

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
boderekstits
Posts: 104
Joined: Sun Mar 19, 2006 9:58 pm
Location: Colorado
Contact:

recording guitar, bass, vocals into Ableton

Post by boderekstits » Wed Mar 22, 2006 4:55 am

does anyone do this? as opposed to using another program?

recommended with Ableton or no?

i'm curious because i'm currently researching interfaces (see other post) and I'm looking at the Presonus Firebox and the Motu Ultralite. The Firebox comes with a stripped down version of Cubase, which I know I could use to record....the Ultralite doesn't come with anything so i would be recording my guitar and bass into Ableton.

many thanks in advance for any insight!

MrYellow
Posts: 1887
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2003 7:10 am
Contact:

Post by MrYellow » Wed Mar 22, 2006 5:15 am

I have 4 MIDI drum tracks sub-mixed into one, I can turn on/off or record
and loop via footswitch on any of the 4 tracks while being able to use those
not looping for live input.

I have 4 live Bass tracks sub-mixed into one, I can turn on/off or record
and loop via footswitch on any of the 4 tracks while being able to use those
not looping for live input.

I have 4 MIDI Bass tracks input from Forte with patches being controlled
via footswitch sub-mixed into one Live track, I can turn on/off or record
and loop via footswitch on any of the 4 tracks while being able to use those
not looping for live input.

I have a few Vox tracks with various effects setups that can be turned
on/off and looped from footswitch.

I have 1 PAD track, input from 2nd computer.

I have a few tracks for loops/one-shots.

Sub-mixes allow control of different instruments as a whole, while sends on
those sub-mixes can then be used as sub-mixes for different foldback
bins.

-Ben

knotkranky
Posts: 4336
Joined: Tue Mar 14, 2006 7:08 pm
Location: la

Post by knotkranky » Wed Mar 22, 2006 7:02 am

MrYellow wrote:
Sub-mixes allow control of different instruments as a whole, while sends on
those sub-mixes can then be used as sub-mixes for different foldback
bins.

-Ben

Brilliant, thanks. When you loop an audio track bit, do you mean triggering a clip?

MrYellow
Posts: 1887
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2003 7:10 am
Contact:

Post by MrYellow » Wed Mar 22, 2006 8:54 am

Recording a clip, then triggering it, then recording on another track,
triggering it. Then moving down a row and recording a new clip for the first
track and triggering it. etc.

The reason for 4 tracks of each instrument is a combination of having
different amp settings on different tracks for live input, and having the
flexibility to record different parts on the same instrument.

It's taken me ages to get this setup figured but now I can basically record
and trigger anything without getting lost and without touching a keyboard.

-Ben

Post Reply