Help with mixing records and Live at the same time.

Discuss music production with Ableton Live.
fatguy128

Help with mixing records and Live at the same time.

Post by fatguy128 » Fri Mar 31, 2006 3:20 am

Hello all,

First of all, I'm brand new so if you need to school me please do so.

Here's my question:

I'm just getting into Live and it's many features, and while I'm still pretty shaky I want to start taking my laptop and keyboard with me to shows and trying stuff out.

I normally play with two turn tables. Records, you know that whole mess, hehehe

Mixing from table to table is easy. Mixing from sample to sample with Live is easy. Mixing from Live to a turntable is easy.

But mixing from a turntable to Live is tricky. I can use the "tap" thingy to get the Live bpm in the right spot, but there doesn't seem to be an easy way to adjust the pitch of the Live sample while it's playing. I need to be able to speedup and slowdown the playing sample. I tried using the "nudge" thing but it's pretty useless.

There must be an easy way to do this. Please help : )

If you're in Seattle, I'd love a chance to pick your brain on other Live stuff too.

Thanks!

-kM

thx1138

Post by thx1138 » Fri Mar 31, 2006 6:41 am

Macbook Pro C2D2.5 17"/4G/OSX.5.6/Live8.12/Brain/Bla bla bla bla

blastique

Post by blastique » Fri Mar 31, 2006 11:24 am

That tip page is superb! It got me through my rough patch when my 307 was back in Malaysia in a box that never got sent over here :(

Anyway, it's back in my hands now once again:D