PLugging in to my computer....

Discuss music production with Ableton Live.
canoes

PLugging in to my computer....

Post by canoes » Thu Jun 12, 2003 5:35 pm

All right, I dont really know how to ask this, Im a little new to plugging things into my computer. I have a G4 iMac and it has 3 USB slots in back, one is being used with keyboard. I would like to hook up something like a guitar amp or even just a guitar(if that is possible) to my computer. Basically what I want to be able to do it hook up something that has an 1/4" output on it into an input which is a USB input. I am just curious as to what would be the simplest way to do this. Where can I get the right chords for this and what are the right chords? Any feedback would be great. thanks.

canoes

cderum

Post by cderum » Thu Jun 12, 2003 6:47 pm

I'm a pc guy--so i really have no business answering your question, but it sounds like you just need a quick, cheap way to get your guitar into your computer via usb; perhaps you can use the imic to give you a line in.

here's a summary i just saw on the web:

iMic
USB Audio Interface

The iMic™ universal audio adapter is a USB device that adds a stereo input and output to your Mac or PC. This allows the connection of virtually any microphone or sound input device to the iBook, Titanium PowerBook, PowerMac or any other Mac or PC with a USB port. Currently shipping, the iMic supports both line and Mic level input as well as line level output for any USB capable computer.

By using USB, the iMic provides significantly superior audio input and output performance over built in audio. The iMic is a must have product for people who are serious about getting high quality audio in or out of their computers. The iMic not only provides amazingly high quality performance but is remarkably inexpensive at a suggested retail price of $35.