Page 1 of 3

UC33e Mackie Control - A gift..

Posted: Wed Apr 12, 2006 11:03 am
by Polyphonic
After taking and learning so many things from this forum, it's time to give something back.

Following the fantastic tips from Machinate, I've set up the Evolution UC33 to work as Mackie Control. I know the faders aren't motorised but it apart from that everything works.

http://s53.yousendit.com/d.aspx?id=1JGE ... CYU1IBIF5S
or
http://www.beatrouteproductions.com/Mus ... ontrol.xml (thanks to LJ)


Faders 1-8 - Live first 8 faders
Fader 9 - Master volume

Button 1 - launch clip
Button 3 - Launch scene

2,4,5,6 - up, left, down, right

7 - open close browser
8 - loop on off
9 - undo

Transport controls work as printed on the UC33 - (stop, play, left, right)

Button 0 - record


I've left the 24 rotary controls at the top as CCs so that you can map them to whatever you want in your project.

Also, the second preset on the UC33 is again CCs only to map to whatever you want in Live. I often change between preset 1 and 2 within a set depending on what I want to control at the time.


All you have to do is to download the following file, open it in Enigma and then upload it to the UC33. Then tell Live that you want to use the UC33 as Mackie Control.


Have fun and I hope somebody finds this useful :)

Posted: Wed Apr 12, 2006 3:15 pm
by LJ Martin
Thank you sir!

And in return... hosting!

http://www.beatrouteproductions.com/Mus ... ontrol.xml

Let me know if there are any problems.

Enjoy All

Posted: Wed Apr 12, 2006 4:16 pm
by Polyphonic
No, thank *you* sir!

The hosting works a treat :D

Posted: Sun Apr 16, 2006 11:23 am
by Polyphonic
I'm allowed to up it once, right? :D

Posted: Sun Apr 16, 2006 11:55 am
by D DAS
ok, i have not been able to figure out how to assign buttons to control up,down,left,right. this keeps me tied to the keyboard, can anyone please enlighten me?

Posted: Sun Apr 16, 2006 12:38 pm
by Polyphonic
What hardware are you using? Are you using the UC33? If you're not using my preset, have a look here (it helped me to make the preset):

http://www.ableton.com/forum/viewtopic. ... highlight=



Image

You'll see that you have to assign the hardware's buttons to the notes shown above. This can be done easily with the UC33's enigma software.

If you're not using the UC33 then the same principles still apply. Assign the correct note number to the button that you want and then tell Live that you want that hardware to be Mackie Control (in the options).

Posted: Sun Apr 16, 2006 2:38 pm
by quandry
nice one, thanks!!!

Posted: Sun Apr 16, 2006 9:31 pm
by D DAS
perfect. thanks

I assiged those notes to those buttons in enigma but am getting no results :-(

what did i miss here?

Posted: Sun Apr 16, 2006 11:54 pm
by D DAS
OMFG you rock polyphonic! Thanks! got it figured out.

Posted: Mon Apr 17, 2006 10:36 am
by Polyphonic
Hehe, awesome, glad you like it :D

Posted: Mon Apr 17, 2006 2:43 pm
by Piett
quick question, what do you use your second preset to controle? and dont you find it cumbersome to have values for controles set up but the faders and knobs at the rong position when switching?

Posted: Mon Apr 17, 2006 2:47 pm
by hoffman2k
Piett wrote:quick question, what do you use your second preset to controle? and dont you find it cumbersome to have values for controles set up but the faders and knobs at the rong position when switching?
Thats the reason why i switched my uc33 for a bcr 2000.
Downside... no faders... But i haven't missed those for a second.

Posted: Tue Apr 25, 2006 11:22 am
by Polyphonic
Piett wrote:quick question, what do you use your second preset to controle? and dont you find it cumbersome to have values for controles set up but the faders and knobs at the rong position when switching?
Hi, sorry for the delayed reply (Live is REALLY distracting...!)

1) I use the second preset to control stuff that I want to map at the time, e.g. Beat Repeat, filter etc.

Also, the buttons on the right hand side of the UC33 aren't mapped to anything on my second preset (whereas on the first they're Mackie Control) so I use them to turn FX on and off and they're very useful to the EQ kill switches on the EQ3 effect.

2) I don't find it too cumbersome to have the faders etc at the wrong position as, during a Live set, I rarely use the mouse. This means that the faders are always at the correct position (I zero them just before I start).

It's not perfect, admittedly, but it works for me (and my bank balance) :)

Posted: Wed Apr 26, 2006 6:43 am
by alan*
LJ Martin wrote:Thank you sir!

And in return... hosting!

http://www.beatrouteproductions.com/Mus ... ontrol.xml

Let me know if there are any problems.

Enjoy All
hey guys, would like to try this but when i click on the link I just get a page full of code come up, any suggestions ?

Thanks.

Posted: Wed Apr 26, 2006 6:48 am
by D DAS
the 1st link should work for you, the second link gave me all that code shit too, but the 1st was money

edit: oh it is expired, i am sure polyphonic will email it to u, or i can if i can remember where i put it