Does anyone know what is Live's MIDI resolution?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
huffcw
Posts: 160
Joined: Sat Jul 24, 2004 11:58 pm

Does anyone know what is Live's MIDI resolution?

Post by huffcw » Wed Apr 26, 2006 11:53 pm

I can't seem to find the answer anywhere. I have asked the question to Ableton three times now - and they will not give me a straight answer on what the maximum MIDI resolution is.

Sonar has 960 ppq - and I am just curious what Live operates at. I find it very weird that they don't tell you and won't tell you when you ask.

So - does anyone know the answer?

huffcw
Posts: 160
Joined: Sat Jul 24, 2004 11:58 pm

Post by huffcw » Thu Apr 27, 2006 11:21 am

Anybody?

hoffman2k
Posts: 14694
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 6:40 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Post by hoffman2k » Thu Apr 27, 2006 11:23 am

What is ppq?

mosca
Posts: 1110
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2003 2:16 pm

Post by mosca » Thu Apr 27, 2006 12:05 pm

pulses per quarter

longjohns
Posts: 9088
Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2003 3:42 pm
Location: seattle

Post by longjohns » Thu Apr 27, 2006 2:27 pm

you can get the midi grid WAY small by zooming. the smallest grid i'm seeing right now is 1/16384th notes. i actually thought i've seen it go smaller before, but anyway that's pretty short.

you can draw at that resolution, but i'm not sure if it actually plays them that short.

3phase
Posts: 4648
Joined: Fri Sep 26, 2003 3:29 am
Contact:

Post by 3phase » Thu Apr 27, 2006 9:52 pm

longjohns wrote:you can get the midi grid WAY small by zooming. the smallest grid i'm seeing right now is 1/16384th notes. i actually thought i've seen it go smaller before, but anyway that's pretty short.

you can draw at that resolution, but i'm not sure if it actually plays them that short.
This for sure is only a drawing resolution...
Live is set to 16th quantisation by default...and probably for a reason ;-)

So the resolution is 4ppq

mikemc
Posts: 5454
Joined: Mon Jun 21, 2004 2:14 pm
Location: Maryland USA
Contact:

Post by mikemc » Thu Apr 27, 2006 9:58 pm

no, ppq cannot only be 4, because 'swung' notes are supported.

In order to 'swing' notes, you have to be able to do the next 1.5 note value (because the swing function 'slips' across the available total pulses per measure). Live can swing 32nds, so at the very least it's 48 ppq.

theoretically, you can have huge numbers for this value that were not available at the time of MIDI's inception in the 8bit era.

FaX-01
Posts: 1483
Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2004 3:58 am

Post by FaX-01 » Fri Apr 28, 2006 1:03 am

3phase wrote:
longjohns wrote:you can get the midi grid WAY small by zooming. the smallest grid i'm seeing right now is 1/16384th notes. i actually thought i've seen it go smaller before, but anyway that's pretty short.

you can draw at that resolution, but i'm not sure if it actually plays them that short.
This for sure is only a drawing resolution...
Live is set to 16th quantisation by default...and probably for a reason ;-)

So the resolution is 4ppq

No it's not if you can and I have used 1/128ths or 1/256th note resolutions etc and iot does go finer.
By definition the grid resolution is a graphic representation of how many pulse clock divisors are available per quater note.
I haven't gone finer than 1/512th myself for anything musical but I do know that it goes to insanely fine resolutions.
Quantise resolution and the number of pulses per quaternote you can actually use are two different things.

It sounds like its atleast 480ppqn minimum to me.
No one in there right mind would touch a sequencer with 4ppqn resolution.
Personally think the MPC's are too limited at 96 ppqn myself.
My aren't the wings of butterflies beautiful and do they not make wonderful perturbations.....

stinky
Posts: 1182
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 1:06 am

Post by stinky » Fri Apr 28, 2006 2:46 am

Why don't you pm Alex over at Abe Headquarters... he'll be able to direct you to the proper answer....

dinaiz
Posts: 414
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2008 2:50 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Does anyone know what is Live's MIDI resolution?

Post by dinaiz » Sun Nov 18, 2012 11:54 am

6 years later, do we have an official reply ? :D

pencilrocket
Posts: 1718
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2010 10:46 am

Re: Does anyone know what is Live's MIDI resolution?

Post by pencilrocket » Sun Nov 18, 2012 11:58 am

Nobody knows :(
Image

DIgiDennis
Posts: 142
Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2006 7:07 am
Location: DK - 1659

Re: Does anyone know what is Live's MIDI resolution?

Post by DIgiDennis » Sun Nov 18, 2012 12:34 pm

It's infinity....and beyond

hoffman2k
Posts: 14694
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 6:40 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Does anyone know what is Live's MIDI resolution?

Post by hoffman2k » Wed Nov 28, 2012 6:24 pm

480 PPQ/Ticks.
1/16384th as smallest grid.

dinaiz
Posts: 414
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2008 2:50 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Does anyone know what is Live's MIDI resolution?

Post by dinaiz » Wed Nov 28, 2012 8:25 pm

Actually I developped a small test pluggin using Juce (http://www.rawmaterialsoftware.com/) and it seems to be 960 pulses per quarter note. At least, that's what live reports ...
Last edited by dinaiz on Wed Nov 28, 2012 9:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.

aioffermann
Posts: 385
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2012 11:47 pm

Re: Does anyone know what is Live's MIDI resolution?

Post by aioffermann » Wed Nov 28, 2012 9:01 pm

Wait wait wait, if 1/16384 is the smallest grid, and everyone knows you can turn the grid off and get even smaller, then the PPQ is surely even greater than 4096?

16384/4 = 4096. Highest GRID PPQ. Higher PPQ without grid no?

Post Reply