Does anyone know what is Live's MIDI resolution?

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
akm
Posts: 134
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2005 9:47 pm

Re: Does anyone know what is Live's MIDI resolution?

Post by akm » Sat Dec 16, 2017 1:40 am

Just did my practical tests. So Live treats MIDI at a sample level internally(!). So, that means that, say, for 44.1 kHz project the PPQN is 22050 at 120 BPM (1/4 = 0.5 sec.), do your math for other tempos. For MIDI export(!) it is quantized to 96 PPQN (for the compatibility reasons).

Stromkraft
Posts: 7033
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2014 11:34 am

Re: Does anyone know what is Live's MIDI resolution?

Post by Stromkraft » Sat Dec 16, 2017 4:49 am

akm wrote:For MIDI export(!) it is quantized to 96 PPQN (for the compatibility reasons).
Which is basically very bad resolution I think resulting in quite audible of feelable deviations. 240 PPQN is minimum as far as I'm concerned and is what was was considered standard already some thirty years ago. Thanks for pointing this out.
Make some music!

Machinesworking
Posts: 11105
Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 9:30 pm
Location: Seattle

Re: Does anyone know what is Live's MIDI resolution?

Post by Machinesworking » Sun Dec 17, 2017 2:05 am

aioffermann wrote:Wait wait wait, if 1/16384 is the smallest grid, and everyone knows you can turn the grid off and get even smaller, then the PPQ is surely even greater than 4096?

16384/4 = 4096. Highest GRID PPQ. Higher PPQ without grid no?
Almost certainly not. Most DAWs are 480 PPQ with some at 960 PPQ. This is for MIDI input recording though, the resolution on the grid could be tighter.

My other DAW Digital Performer has a choice for that, so you can set it higher etc. It defaults to 480PPQ.

Post Reply