live eq

Discuss music production with Ableton Live.
mark

live eq

Post by mark » Mon Jul 14, 2003 10:14 pm

does anyone have any thoughtson live's eq? im pretty new to the whole music production game but i do notice, when i use the live eq there is a lack of clarity in the output. does anyone know of another good eq for use in live?

thanks
mark

monolake.

EQ

Post by monolake. » Mon Jul 14, 2003 11:02 pm

Hi mark,

The EQ 4 in Live is a pretty normal standard implementation of a classical digital IIR filter. It does not need much CPU and it sounds okay. But of course there are much more sophisticated algorithms out there, ranging from nice analog emuations to linear phase response FIR filters.

As someone who`s pretty much involved into the devolopment of Live´s devices i can completly agree that EQ´s with more character are desirable. Unfortuntely we are still only a handfull developers facing a huge workload. There is a reason why whole companies like Waves do nothing else then creating and improving algorithms for filters, compressors etc.
There will be more complex filters in Live one day, but do not ask me when.

For now here are some general notes on digital EQ´s which wil also help you in Live:

- almost all EQ`s sound better if you do not boost frequenices but rather cut other ons.
- almost all EQ´s sound better if you do not use very high Q settings, especially if you boost a band.
- all digital systems sound bad if you clip the output ( have a look at the meters inthe BUS view. if they are getting red you are distorting the output signal ! )

- filters with a sharp resonace like the analog filter emulation ( which sounds good i think ! ) in Autofilter boost the output signal around the filter frequency. If you feed it with a normalised input signal it will produce a signal at the output which is much higher then the input. Lower the gain of that track or the master gain in order to avoid the above mentioned output clipping !