new computer help

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Pilgrim
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu May 20, 2004 1:27 am
Location: 4-Corners & Palm Harbor, FL, USA

Post by Pilgrim » Thu Jun 08, 2006 2:16 pm

Sebastian wrote:Thanks.

I would never buy Spectral computers, never heard of them. They can end up like Aardvark, kaputz.

Im not sure I understand why you dont encourage MAC............?
Seb,
Your English is showing you up again.

Too bad about you getting a reliable computer to your standards.
Aardvark was as well known as any computer you will buy that is well known.
Your logic is funny. . . and negative. . .

Read it again, I did not discourage MAC. I simply stated the obvious that Windows software will not run on any MAC except the Pentium processors.
I would have to spend lots of money for new software or lots of money for one with the new processor.
And they are truly not proven yet. They ewentually will work, but Apple took its own good time getting OSx to work (years),

AND, Steve Jobs dies (accidently or by the hand of a jealous husband) and Apple dies. Everytime he tries to retire, they almost go under. Happened twice.

--- Buy Apple, you buy Steve Jobs And I DID recommend the IMAC!
Last edited by Pilgrim on Thu Jun 08, 2006 2:24 pm, edited 5 times in total.

Pilgrim
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu May 20, 2004 1:27 am
Location: 4-Corners & Palm Harbor, FL, USA

Post by Pilgrim » Thu Jun 08, 2006 2:20 pm

Pilgrim wrote:Seb,


IMac is good buy and might work but new software complete needed.
The IMac was really tempting except for need for all new software (except LIVE!). Complete around $1300. Neat, Friend there is DJ, uses one LIVE!

Pilgrim
You call that NOT ENCOURAGING? (BTW: "Neat" has a comma after it!)

Scuse me. . .

PJ

MrYellow
Posts: 1887
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2003 7:10 am
Contact:

Post by MrYellow » Thu Jun 08, 2006 2:21 pm

Read your motherboard manual.

It will tell you what brands and how much RAM of each the board will
support. Then buy as much as you can of the best RAM u can afford.

Install the motherboard utils so u can monitor the temp inside too, could
be a heat issue.....

Actually.... apart from not having enough RAM..... it could be anything....
Need specifics on what's happening.

-Ben

Sebastian
Posts: 1089
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 4:39 am

Post by Sebastian » Thu Jun 08, 2006 3:05 pm

thanks Im having a techie friend come look at it

thanks Pilgrim.
Live Suite 9, RME Fireface 800, Mac Book Pro, Sierra

Post Reply