ableton's unfair copy protection system

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
forge
Posts: 17422
Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2004 9:47 am
Location: Queensland, AU
Contact:

Post by forge » Mon Aug 21, 2006 1:12 pm

Angstrom wrote:
friend wrote:Lots of Ya***y doodles here it seems. And most of you must be under 20...
I'm really surprised how unfriendly and unprofessional forum this is. My first impression of this forum and its people is totally negative one.
Probably you are all just teenagers and Live isn't professional product for serious music making at all?
Are there any people who really do something serious with this program? Not just fuckin' techno trance shit from the Bushland...
Image
:D :lol: :wink:

Pasha
Posts: 3250
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2005 12:45 pm
Location: Lost Island
Contact:

To Mr. Friend and all those who think this forum is not pro

Post by Pasha » Mon Aug 21, 2006 1:42 pm

I'm not 20, I'm 40. I'm doing no techno nor electronica music with Live.
Stop Trolling.
I forgot : I'm happy with their protection system.

How can it be improved ?
Well think iTunes. You can activate 5 piece of hardware and you can blow up all those once a year. You can deactivate (deauthorize) PCs at will gaining more installations. In this way (with some modifications) you can allow users to have a better experience even in case of crash or change machine.
If somebody uses a PC today for serious working he or she must make backups of important files and imaging (Norton Ghost, Acronis True Image or freeware Partimage http://www.partimage.org/Index.en.html) can be used for this tasks whatever your serious work is.

Pls share your opinions on that.
Apple iMac 2013 / Macbook Late 2012
Live 10 Suite,Zebra ,Guitar, Bass, VG99, JV1010 and some controllers
______________________________________
Music : http://alonetone.com/pasha

gomi
Posts: 1133
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2005 8:29 pm
Location: earth

Post by gomi » Mon Aug 21, 2006 1:46 pm

darthstephen wrote:you know..it's funny. part of me is feeling like this because i'm still not confident there going to unlock my software in the morning. i hate feeling like it's up to someone else to decide whether or not i can use my software.

If you feel the need to reinstall your os so often, maybe you should consider
using a different one. ;)

gomi
Posts: 1133
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2005 8:29 pm
Location: earth

Post by gomi » Mon Aug 21, 2006 1:48 pm

darthstephen wrote:
i wasn't going to keep this going, but i gotta ask...you haven't upgrade any hardware in your system or re-installed your os in five years??? also, are you using a mac and is the cloning and hardware changes easier somehow?

though i know i re-install my system more than most, i'm curious how you haven't had to in so long...

yes i run a mac.
i haven't had to reinstall... ever.

also, cloning on a mac takes about 10 minutes, and the code stays the same.
everytime, on the same machine.

life is too short.

Pitch Black
Posts: 6452
Joined: Sat Dec 21, 2002 2:18 am
Location: Auckland New Zealand
Contact:

Post by Pitch Black » Mon Aug 21, 2006 1:48 pm

gomi wrote:If you feel the need to reinstall your os so often, maybe you should consider
using a different one. ;)
<horrified collective gasp>

ooooooohhhhhhh

Pasha
Posts: 3250
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2005 12:45 pm
Location: Lost Island
Contact:

Post by Pasha » Mon Aug 21, 2006 1:50 pm

gomi wrote:
darthstephen wrote:
i wasn't going to keep this going, but i gotta ask...you haven't upgrade any hardware in your system or re-installed your os in five years??? also, are you using a mac and is the cloning and hardware changes easier somehow?

though i know i re-install my system more than most, i'm curious how you haven't had to in so long...

yes i run a mac.
i haven't had to reinstall... ever.

also, cloning on a mac takes about 10 minutes, and the code stays the same.
everytime, on the same machine.

life is too short.
Not a Mac here but a wanna-be. How do you clone Mac ?
Apple iMac 2013 / Macbook Late 2012
Live 10 Suite,Zebra ,Guitar, Bass, VG99, JV1010 and some controllers
______________________________________
Music : http://alonetone.com/pasha

hoffman2k
Posts: 14718
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 6:40 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Post by hoffman2k » Mon Aug 21, 2006 1:52 pm

Pasha wrote:
gomi wrote:
darthstephen wrote:
i wasn't going to keep this going, but i gotta ask...you haven't upgrade any hardware in your system or re-installed your os in five years??? also, are you using a mac and is the cloning and hardware changes easier somehow?

though i know i re-install my system more than most, i'm curious how you haven't had to in so long...

yes i run a mac.
i haven't had to reinstall... ever.

also, cloning on a mac takes about 10 minutes, and the code stays the same.
everytime, on the same machine.

life is too short.
Not a Mac here but a wanna-be. How do you clone Mac ?
You take some DNA samples and you take them to the lab :wink:

Pitch Black
Posts: 6452
Joined: Sat Dec 21, 2002 2:18 am
Location: Auckland New Zealand
Contact:

Post by Pitch Black » Mon Aug 21, 2006 2:00 pm

...
Last edited by Pitch Black on Mon Aug 21, 2006 2:02 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Pasha
Posts: 3250
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2005 12:45 pm
Location: Lost Island
Contact:

Post by Pasha » Mon Aug 21, 2006 2:01 pm

hoffman2k wrote:
Pasha wrote:
gomi wrote:
yes i run a mac.
i haven't had to reinstall... ever.

also, cloning on a mac takes about 10 minutes, and the code stays the same.
everytime, on the same machine.

life is too short.
Not a Mac here but a wanna-be. How do you clone Mac ?
You take some DNA samples and you take them to the lab :wink:
.... I mean really.... that way is too simple :wink:
Is built in with Mac OS X or you need to buy one?
Apple iMac 2013 / Macbook Late 2012
Live 10 Suite,Zebra ,Guitar, Bass, VG99, JV1010 and some controllers
______________________________________
Music : http://alonetone.com/pasha

Pitch Black
Posts: 6452
Joined: Sat Dec 21, 2002 2:18 am
Location: Auckland New Zealand
Contact:

Post by Pitch Black » Mon Aug 21, 2006 2:02 pm

To clone, one of the best things for Mac is the free Carbon Copy Cloner

http://www.bombich.com/software/ccc.html

And once you're on the Mac platform, tranferring your entire life over to a new mac is as easy as connecting them by firewire and clicking on a button.

The one that says "OK Stevie baby, I'm hereby buying into all that Digital Lifestyle shiz - upgrade me."
RMBP i7 2.8GHz | OSX 10.14.6 | Live10.1.15 | Fireface800 | Push 2
https://soundcloud.com/paddyfree

gomi
Posts: 1133
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2005 8:29 pm
Location: earth

Post by gomi » Mon Aug 21, 2006 3:14 pm

Pasha wrote:
gomi wrote:
darthstephen wrote:
i wasn't going to keep this going, but i gotta ask...you haven't upgrade any hardware in your system or re-installed your os in five years??? also, are you using a mac and is the cloning and hardware changes easier somehow?

though i know i re-install my system more than most, i'm curious how you haven't had to in so long...

yes i run a mac.
i haven't had to reinstall... ever.

also, cloning on a mac takes about 10 minutes, and the code stays the same.
everytime, on the same machine.

life is too short.
Not a Mac here but a wanna-be. How do you clone Mac ?

it's built into the OS. it's called Apple System Restore.
Very powerful, you can even cold boot the machine from a network image
and reimage your machine from there with it.

check out http://www.bombich.com home of carbon copy cloner and netrestore.

all completely free.

ASR is a command line unix util, netrestore is the Graphical User Interface
for it.

gomi
Posts: 1133
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2005 8:29 pm
Location: earth

Post by gomi » Mon Aug 21, 2006 3:16 pm

Pitch Black wrote: The one that says "OK Stevie baby, I'm hereby buying into all that Digital Lifestyle shiz - upgrade me."
one day they will catch on...
one day heee heee.

forge
Posts: 17422
Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2004 9:47 am
Location: Queensland, AU
Contact:

Post by forge » Mon Aug 21, 2006 3:40 pm

come on now - this is what Macs can do to people:

http://www.ableton.com/forum/viewtopic. ... 953#207953

rentanutta
Posts: 62
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2006 1:44 pm
Location: Left hand corner of the Batcave, Just by the Batumbrella
Contact:

Post by rentanutta » Mon Aug 21, 2006 3:55 pm

Is this still going....................Good Grief!

:? :? :? :? :? :? :? :? :? :? :? :? :? :? :? :? :? :? :? :? :? :?
Dell Dimension 9100 Desktop, Win XP SP2 Home, Soundblaster Audigy 7.1 Soundcard,2GB Ram , 400 GB Hard Drive, Live 5, M-Audio O2 Midi Keyboard

Also run Reason 3 with no issues.

gomi
Posts: 1133
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2005 8:29 pm
Location: earth

Post by gomi » Mon Aug 21, 2006 4:20 pm

rentanutta wrote:Is this still going....................Good Grief!

:? :? :? :? :? :? :? :? :? :? :? :? :? :? :? :? :? :? :? :? :? :?

THERE CAN BE ONLY ONE!

Post Reply