ableton's unfair copy protection system

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Lo-Fi Massahkah
Posts: 3602
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 2:57 pm
Location: The south east suburbs of Malmö, Sweden.

Post by Lo-Fi Massahkah » Mon Aug 21, 2006 5:33 pm

Angstrom - that's a very nice pic.

Are there any restrictions to the troll version compared to the full Live 6? :wink: :D

-Mikael

psilopsyche
Posts: 130
Joined: Thu Sep 28, 2006 6:40 pm
Location: Århus Denmark / Orange Country California
Contact:

Post by psilopsyche » Sat Oct 07, 2006 1:45 am

Damn... empathy anyone? I agree with you Stephen.

I switched to a Mac last year and don't see myself reformatting my computer unless I upgrade my OS to a new version - which probably still won't happen because I'll just upgrade... BUT:

On my old Winshit XP computer I have in the past reformatted almost MONTHLY because it got so bogged down with shit.

Jesus Christ people. Stop hanging people out to dry & grow up.
Apple Macbook 1.83 + 2GB RAM | Live 7 Demo

b0unce
Posts: 5379
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 4:16 pm

Post by b0unce » Sat Oct 07, 2006 1:51 am

uh...this is so old hat.
prior to your bump, the last post was 6 weeks ago.

.......so people have probably grown up since then, at least marginally.
Last edited by b0unce on Sat Oct 07, 2006 1:52 am, edited 1 time in total.
spreader of butter

longjohns
Posts: 9088
Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2003 3:42 pm
Location: seattle

Post by longjohns » Sat Oct 07, 2006 1:52 am

Pasha wrote:
How can it be improved ?
Well think iTunes. You can activate 5 piece of hardware and you can blow up all those once a year. You can deactivate (deauthorize) PCs at will gaining more installations. In this way (with some modifications) you can allow users to have a better experience even in case of crash or change machine.
you've got to be kidding. i just installed itunes7. at some point i was informed that i've "now authorized 4 out of your available 5 devices" (i have itunes on this computer, plus i have an ipod)

great system, that it's chewing up my licenses just from updating to this crappy version which i can't get to play back mp3's without stuttering

psilopsyche
Posts: 130
Joined: Thu Sep 28, 2006 6:40 pm
Location: Århus Denmark / Orange Country California
Contact:

Post by psilopsyche » Sat Oct 07, 2006 1:54 am

I didn't realize that I had to follow your forum etiquette to express my opinion. old hat wooo...
Apple Macbook 1.83 + 2GB RAM | Live 7 Demo

b0unce
Posts: 5379
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 4:16 pm

Post by b0unce » Sat Oct 07, 2006 1:56 am

uh...you dont...

just its stupid bumping old-ass threads, and then telling people to 'grow up' as if it was being discussed in the present.
spreader of butter

psilopsyche
Posts: 130
Joined: Thu Sep 28, 2006 6:40 pm
Location: Århus Denmark / Orange Country California
Contact:

Post by psilopsyche » Sat Oct 07, 2006 2:00 am

I can agree with that. My intention however in posting a reply was to put my thoughts on here, not to bump the damn thing. In fact...

I actually ran a search for "serial email" because I just got my Live 6 boxed set, but haven't received my serial. :?

I didn't consider that this was an old thread.

My bad. :lol:
Apple Macbook 1.83 + 2GB RAM | Live 7 Demo

longjohns
Posts: 9088
Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2003 3:42 pm
Location: seattle

Post by longjohns » Sat Oct 07, 2006 2:01 am

oh im sorry too

b0unce
Posts: 5379
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 4:16 pm

Post by b0unce » Sat Oct 07, 2006 2:06 am

:wink:
spreader of butter

anti-banausic
Posts: 1609
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2004 9:15 pm
Location: NYC

Post by anti-banausic » Sat Oct 07, 2006 5:28 am

Necroposting.....nothing new.

Just bad form....sorry. I don't mean to be mean.
Macbook c2d 2.0, 2G RAM, 160G HD 5400 RPM, OSX(10.5.5), XP Home, LIVE6, BCR 2000, UC33e, Yamaha P-200, Logic Studio, KRK V6 II

forge
Posts: 17422
Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2004 9:47 am
Location: Queensland, AU
Contact:

Post by forge » Sat Oct 07, 2006 5:32 am

:?:

normally the comment is "use the bloody search function theres loads on this"

no pleasing some people!

b0unce
Posts: 5379
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 4:16 pm

Post by b0unce » Sat Oct 07, 2006 12:17 pm

forge wrote::?:

normally the comment is "use the bloody search function theres loads on this"

no pleasing some people!
coming from the Queen of OT-flame threads...

ya its good advice for people wanting to learn something, not for revitalising flash-in-the-pan arguments as old as your panties.

I suppose thats your kind of thing tho, searching out old arguments ?

how come they see sense and you dont ?
spreader of butter

pancona
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 10:27 am
Location: NY

copy protection

Post by pancona » Sat Oct 07, 2006 12:32 pm

I have never had a problem authorizing Live. I have done it many times without a problem. However, I did have bomb factory that worked with an iLock. During a move I lost the iLock and when I called bomb factory they said sorry there was nothing they could do. $700.00 worth of plug-ins were gone. The Ableton protecton scheme works great.

FrankH
Posts: 226
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2002 9:38 pm
Location: Zeist, The Netherlands

Post by FrankH » Mon Oct 09, 2006 11:10 am

thelike5 wrote:I've been issued ONE unlock key since I first bought Ableton Live going on 5 years ago...

'nuff said.
Same here, i only have to unlock once. I have upgraded from Live 1 to Live 2 to Live 3 to Live 4 to Live 5 and recently to Live 6 and had no problem at all.

darthstephen if you feel the need to re-install your OS every month then you should consider doing your pron surfing on an other computer and not on your music production computer.
Live 6.0.3 Win XP sp2, P4 2.8 GHz, 1 GB, UXGA video, RME Multiface (1), Nord Lead 3, Korg X5D, TR-Rack, ER-1, Roland Juno 106, JV-2080, Elektron Machinedrum-UW, SidStation, SPL Charisma, Soundtracs CP6800 (40/12/24), Genelec 1030A, Furutech TP80, etc.

deadmau5
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2006 10:48 am
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Contact:

Post by deadmau5 » Tue Oct 31, 2006 5:28 am

FrankH wrote:
thelike5 wrote:I've been issued ONE unlock key since I first bought Ableton Live going on 5 years ago...

'nuff said.
Same here, i only have to unlock once. I have upgraded from Live 1 to Live 2 to Live 3 to Live 4 to Live 5 and recently to Live 6 and had no problem at all.

darthstephen if you feel the need to re-install your OS every month then you should consider doing your pron surfing on an other computer and not on your music production computer.
i for one, buy a new CPU and motherboard at *least* once every 3 months, simply because i like to stay on top of things... and having doing that, and playing around with different configurations, i have no choice most times but to re-install an operating system... which in turn led me today to my first "unlock key expiry" im pretty unenthusiastic about this... or about having to explain to abletons support as to "why" i need a new key...

quite frankly it's none of their business as to how frequently i choose to upgrade my production machine, but here i am finding myself having to explain "why" i need a new key.... not to mention the fact that im now stuck here, not being able to do jack shit about it until someone on the other side of the planet gets back to me.

very dissapointed.

Post Reply