this is odd

Discussion of music production, audio, equipment and any related topics, either with or without Ableton Live
Post Reply
Needs2Know
Posts: 111
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2005 11:16 pm
Contact:

this is odd

Post by Needs2Know » Fri Jul 07, 2006 6:42 am

I recently reformatted my stupid PC but had saved a LIVE project on a separate partition. Reinstalled LIVE on the newly installed windows xp and i got everything to work like before except one strange problem:

i cant stop my Drums from being triggered via midi. all my tracks are midi going to vsts. one midi track however is going to my Machine Drum(drum machine). i went so far as deleating the whole MIDI track and its still sending the loop to the Machine Drum!!! wtf is going on here? there is nothing recorded in the arrangement view.

every time i launch one of the single midi clips to my synth vst, the damn Machine Drum plays the same loop. 8O
LOGIC PRO 7.2 w/ G4 1.67 1.5G RAM . Mac OSX 10.4.8, LIVE 6.0, Virus TI Keyboard, Korg EMX1, AXIOM 25 and Keystation Pro 88 midi controllers, Midisport 2x2 midi interface, UltraLite audio interface and 1 Rode NT3 mic "check, check".

Needs2Know
Posts: 111
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2005 11:16 pm
Contact:

Post by Needs2Know » Fri Jul 07, 2006 6:48 am

LOL ok that was weird. I tried pressing the stop button on the Machine Drum and the drums stopped. thats still weird though because that meant that triggering a separate clip which had nothing to do with the drum clip, started up the drum machine...ahh so the vst clip sent a "go" message to the drum machine telling it to start playing. oh well problem solved :D
LOGIC PRO 7.2 w/ G4 1.67 1.5G RAM . Mac OSX 10.4.8, LIVE 6.0, Virus TI Keyboard, Korg EMX1, AXIOM 25 and Keystation Pro 88 midi controllers, Midisport 2x2 midi interface, UltraLite audio interface and 1 Rode NT3 mic "check, check".

Needs2Know
Posts: 111
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2005 11:16 pm
Contact:

Post by Needs2Know » Fri Jul 07, 2006 7:05 am

damit problem not solved. its still acting up. every time i trigger a loop it tells my drum machine to start playing. what is happaning?? i did not have this problem before i reformatted.
LOGIC PRO 7.2 w/ G4 1.67 1.5G RAM . Mac OSX 10.4.8, LIVE 6.0, Virus TI Keyboard, Korg EMX1, AXIOM 25 and Keystation Pro 88 midi controllers, Midisport 2x2 midi interface, UltraLite audio interface and 1 Rode NT3 mic "check, check".

DeadlyKungFu
Posts: 3603
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2005 8:26 pm

Post by DeadlyKungFu » Fri Jul 07, 2006 7:10 am

options -> preferences -> MIDI/Sync Make sure the port where the Machine Drum is connected does not have any of the SYNC boxes checked, uncheck all the boxes related to it, recheck them as needed once the problem is settled.

Needs2Know
Posts: 111
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2005 11:16 pm
Contact:

Post by Needs2Know » Fri Jul 07, 2006 7:14 am

ok i found a work around. if the play button up at the top(corralating to the arrangment view) keeps playing, the drum machine will not get triggered without that midi clip playing in the session view.
LOGIC PRO 7.2 w/ G4 1.67 1.5G RAM . Mac OSX 10.4.8, LIVE 6.0, Virus TI Keyboard, Korg EMX1, AXIOM 25 and Keystation Pro 88 midi controllers, Midisport 2x2 midi interface, UltraLite audio interface and 1 Rode NT3 mic "check, check".

Post Reply